Finding Theses or Dissertations: Reference Books

Find resources in this guide on your subject.See if the library has the item; if not use this libraries InterLibrary Loan service from the Library Homepage under Library Services

This comprehensive reference contains 25,000 entries and includes terms and concepts drawn from a diverse range of subject areas, including anthropology, computer programming, molecular and population biology, pharmacology, physics, and statistics. Though primarily intended for graduate and undergraduate students and practitioners and researchers in psychology and related fields, the text is clear and concise and should be accessible to general readers.

"The Biographical Dictionary of Psychology" provides biographical information and critical analysis of the influences, interest and reception of over 500 people who have made a significant contribution to the field of psychology. The entries are alphabetically organized and identically structured, allowing the reader to access and compare information easily. Introductory biographical details cover main fields of interest, nationality, places and dates of birth and death, appointments and honors. This section is followed by full bibliographic details of principal publications, as well as secondary and critical literature that provide a useful route for further research. The main body of the entry gives a critical appraisal of the life, work and major achievements of each figure.

The Cambridge Dictionary of Psychology is the first and only dictionary that surveys the broad discipline of psychology from an international, cross-cultural, and interdisciplinary focus. This focus was achieved in several ways. The managing and consulting editorial boards were comprised of world-renowned scholars in psychology from many different countries, not just the United States. They reviewed and edited all of the keyword entries to make them lively and applicable across cultural contexts, incorporating the latest knowledge in contemporary international psychology. Thus entries related to culture, as well as those from all domains of psychology, are written with the broadest possible audience in mind.

Expanding the first edition by about a third, Vogt (Illinois State U.) presents some definitions statistical concepts and methodological terms used in the social and behavioral sciences, as well as related term from theory and philosophy. The entries are presented in nontechnical language containing no formulas. Elementary concepts are defined more fully than advanced concept and specialized terms in the interests of brevity but, according to Vogt, the cross-references should allow readers to work through unfamiliar terms in to reach understanding of the advanced material.

A dictionary which presents a baseline set of key concepts for examining the laws, theories, principles, effects, doctrines, and hypotheses in psychology. Roeckelein (psychology, Mesa Community College in Arizona) provides accepted definitions of the generalized concepts as well as historical references and current citations concerning the concepts in psychology as reflected by the authoritative accounts in the literature. The entries vary considerably in length, from long ones on broad terms such as learning and personality to brief ones on specific theories and laws.

This authoritative and wide-ranging reference work has been thoroughly revised to include the latest definitions used in psychology, psychiatry, and related fields. It now features 17,000 entries along with sections that explore the latest developments in neuroscience and social psychology. A first rate reference book, "The Penguin Dictionary of Psychology" will continue to prove invaluable to students, professionals, and the interested general reader

Stressing that mind-body dualism must be abandoned in thinking about the biological and psychosocial aspects of pain, psychologist Fillingim (U. of Florida College of Dentistry; North Florida/South Georgia VA Health System) provides brief entries on topics from abuse (and its relation to chronic pain) to workers' compensation (relative to clinical assessment and treatment). Entries include a number of pain inventories.

Over 1,200 entries in this edition, sixty percent of which are substantially revised or altogether new. * Contributions from over seven hundred experts from around the world. * Includes a bibliography of over 10,000 citations.

Sponsored by the International Association of Applied Psychology, this encyclopedia is an excellent general guide to applied psychology. Its 300 articles range from "Academic Failure, Prevention of," through "Cognitive Aging" and "Personality Assessment," to "Youth, Employment of." The signed articles, arranged alphabetically, examine both the theoretical bases of their subjects and the application of theory and research to practical problems. Each begins with an outline, glossary of terms, and brief summary paragraph and ends with cross-references to other articles and suggestions for further reading in secondary sources, review articles, and important research papers.

Written in clear, nontechnical language, this two-volume resource presents a complete contemporary portrait of depressive disorders, summarizing the latest scientific, medical, and societal thinking on a wide variety of depression-related topics.

The Encyclopedia of Human Relationships offers an interdisciplinary view of all types of human associations-friends, lovers, spouses, roommates, coworkers, teammates, parents and children, cousins, siblings, acquaintances, neighbors, business associates, and so forth. Although each of these connections is unique in some respect, they share a common core of principles and processes. These three volumes provide a state-of-the-art review of the extensive theories, concepts, and empirical findings about human relationships.

Written in non-technical language by an international team of contributors, the entries of this two-volume encyclopedia provide a thorough overview of a growing field. Each entry is clearly organized and includes a list of cross-references and bibliography. Supplementary materials include a reader's guide, which groups the entry topics by major subject; and appendices, which provide guidelines for education and training at the master's and doctoral levels, lists of graduate programs, scientific journals, job titles, and groups and organizations with industrial/organizational psychologists among their members. The encyclopedia will be useful to undergraduate and beginning graduate students, practitioners, and the interested general reader.

The Encyclopedia of Mental Health, Third Edition is a revised and updated A-to-Z reference covering all aspects of general mental health topics. This guide sorts through a maze of professional jargon to provide definitions of theories, syndromes, symptoms, treatments, and contemporary issues, in language that everyone can understand, bringing readers the most up-to-date information on this subject. Presenting more than 2,000 new and updated entries, this volume is a resource for anyone seeking more information on mental health.

Jackson (psychology and behavioral sciences, U. of Kansas) presents the first scholarly resource guide synthesizing the field of multicultural psychology, with contributions from some 200 academics, researchers, and practitioners, primarily from the U.S. and Canada. The alphabetically arranged entries address culture across a broad spectrum of psychological viewpoints--social, cognitive, environment, cross-cultural, and clinical--and support the belief that culture, not race, is the best way to understand differences among individuals.

Positive psychology, the pursuit of understanding optimal human functioning, is reshaping the scholarly and public views of how we see the science of psychology. The Encyclopedia of Positive Psychology provides a comprehensive and accessible summary of this growing area of scholarship and practice.

This joint effort of the American Psychological Association and Oxford University Press has more than 1,500 alphabetically arranged, signed entries, including nearly 400 biographies. Eight years in the works, it was edited by Alan E. Kazdin (psychology, Yale) and reflects the efforts of some 1,400 contributors. A veritable who's who in psychology and its related disciplines forms the panel of editors and writers.

These two volumes present an enormous amount of theory, practice, research, and training in a diverse, interesting, and controversial field. Overseeing some 300 contributors, Hersen (psychology, Pacific Univ.) and Sledge (psychiatry, Yale Univ.) collected about 160 articles, running in length from two to 20 pages.

Lee (U. of Kansas) emphasizes the role of school psychologists as consultants, and one of this encyclopedia's goals is to introduce non-specialists to the scope of psychology applied to education. It can also serve as a reference for practitioners and vocational counselors. For ease of use, the comprehensive contents are listed both alphabetically and by subject area. About 250 entries by a large team of contributors from relevant disciples cover topics from assessment to technology.

The Freud Encyclopedia: Theory, Therapy, and Culture is a comprehensive reference work on the life, ideas, and influence of the great and controversial founder of psychoanalysis, Sigmund Freud. The encyclopedia offers a wide range of articles on Freud and his work but also on Freud as a cultural and literary figure whose writings and ideas have, ironically, had a more lasting impact than have his original psychoanalytic theories. Among the topics considered, for example, are Freud's influence on the creation and development of psychoanalytic theory as well as on art, literature, biography, history, cinema, religion, and sociology. The encyclopedia also considers the many individuals who knew Freud personally, who studied under him and became his disciples (or his opponents), or who were instrumental in developing and advancing his ideas throughout the world.

Magill's Encyclopedia of Social Science: Psychology provides a comprehensive view of the field-covering theories, diagnoses, disorders, treatments, tests, people and issues-and adds helpful illustrations, charts, and drawings. This encyclopedia streamlines many of the topics with helpful overviews, offereing greater flexibility in length and format.

This invaluable reference guide is the most current source related to professional counseling issues, ethics, theories, and practices. Marini and Stebnicki provide a wide range of culturally diverse treatment approaches that will expand the counseling profession's knowledge, awareness, and skills.