American Theological Library Association. This is the premier database for research in the field of religion and theology.
• Searchable by scripture text. We recommend book and chapter (excluding verses) for best results.
• 1949 – present
• Index of journals articles, multi-author works, and books reviews in the field of religion.
CINAHL Plus® with Full Text is a robust collection of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 770 journals indexed.
This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. CINAHL Plus with Full Text is the core research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature. Full text coverage dates back to 1937.
Provides information for students in health sciences programs, as well as consumers and health care professionals.
This database is the perfect resource for up-to-date information on a complete range of healthcare topics related to patient and consumer health information including fitness, pregnancy, medicine, nutrition, diseases, public health, occupational health & safety, alcohol and drug abuse, HMOs, prescription drugs, etc. Access millions of articles from a wide range of full-text nursing and allied health journals, magazines, newsletters, reference sources, as well as hundreds of health-related multimedia demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries. Includes Gale’s visual Topic Finder tool.
Produced by the Buros Center for Testing at the University of Nebraska, this resource is essential for evaluating contemporary testing instruments. Designed for novices and professionals alike, it contains full-text reviews for test products in psychology, education, business and leadership. In addition, it provides a bibliography to all known commercially available English-language tests currently in print. Much more detail in the More Info section.
All Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) entries contain descriptive information (test purpose, publisher, pricing, population and scores) and edited reviews written by leading content area experts. To be included in the MMY, a test must be commercially available, published in the English language and be new or revised since it last appeared in the series.
Content Includes:
• Full-text reviews of 3,000+ contemporary testing instruments
• All previous editions of the yearbook dating back to 1938 (10,000+ full-text reviews)
• Tests In Print (TIP) — a bibliographical database to all known commercially available English-language tests currently in print.
Micromedex is a significant resource for our nursing students. Click the More Info button for more about the variety of modules and smartphone options!
MODULES
1. Clinical Knowledge: Medication, Disease and Toxicology Management
- Evidence based clinical resources to support informed diagnosis and treatment decisions.
- Unbiased, referenced Clinical Decision Support (CDS) for medication, toxicology, disease, and alternative medicine.
- Safely and reliably manage drug therapy for pediatric and neonatal patients with NeoFax and Pediatrics evidence-based drug information.
- RED BOOK for drug pricing, drug data, and manufacturer information.
Find information about additional Micromedex at https://www.ibm.com/watson/health/provider-client-training/micromedex/
2. Formulary: Facility wide Formulary Management
- Easy-to-use online tool to effectively manage and update hospital formulary and communicate the most current information facility-wide.
3. Patient Connect: CareNotes
- Provides patients with complete, easy-to-understand patient education handouts.
- Patient education for conditions and diagnoses, labs, and procedures, written for every stage of care.
- Medication Instructions deliver a single source of evidence-based patient education.
- Documents are written at a 5th-7th grade reading level, and are available in up to 15 languages.
4. Medication Essential Fact Sheets
- Short and to-the-point drug information that supports better patient understanding and adherence.
- Helps improve medication-related Hospital Consumer Assessment of Healthcare Providers and Systems (HCAHPS) scores.
For more information about CareNotes Patient Education and Medication Essential Fact Sheets, visit https://www.ibm.com/watson/health/provider-client-training/micromedex-carenotes/
5. Pharmaceutical Knowledge: A Role-Based Solution for Pharmaceutical Professionals
- A tailored interface providing trusted evidence and global guidance with a Pharmaceutical perspective.
- Enhanced for advanced searching, ability to compare drug results, and aggregation with other information resources.
MOBLE APPS
There is an app for MicroMedex for our nursing students! According to iTunes and Google Play, MicroMedex has several apps:
•Micromedex Drug Int.
•Micromedex Drug Ref
•Micromedex IV Comp
*Micromedex Pediatrics
* NOTE: We do not have NeoFax.
When I click into MicroMedex website via desktop for our campus, it appears that we have access to those on the web version, so we should access via the app as well. Librarians are not nurses and don't use the app but wanted clarification on how our nursing students can login to these apps. On campus, they would have to validate through our proxy server. I would doubt the app has that capability, so we wanted to find out how they can successfully login as our student.
Solution:
You can find the passwords for Micromedex by logging into our subscription. On the top corner of the Micromedex homepage, in the upper right corner, look for the Mobile Application Access link. Click it will take you to IBM mobile Micromedex page. Now, please click on Micromedex Native Mobile Apps which will take you to the mobile passwords page. The passwords must be entered exactly as they appear onscreen. Please keep this email for future reference to find the passwords, as needed. We recommend doing this over a laptop or desktop. Passwords are only good for one year. You lose access sometime, so check the password.
The library subscribes to only five journals from OVID: The American Journal of Nursing, Journal of Nursing Administration, Nurse Practitioner, Nursing Management, and Nursing. If you discover other articles of interest from other journals, you will need to submit an interlibrary loan request form to request them.
The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world. Click the More Info button that includes links to two helpful videos to enhance your use.
As a historical dictionary, the OED is very different from dictionaries of current English, in which the focus is on present-day meanings. You’ll still find present-day meanings in the OED, but you’ll also find the history of individual words, and of the language—traced through 3 million quotations, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books.
The OED started life more than 150 years ago. Today, the dictionary is in the process of its first major revision. Updates revise and extend the OED at regular intervals, each time subtly adjusting our image of the English language.
OED Labs – Our goal is to further develop the OED’s offering to actively support the needs of academic research as they evolve in the coming years. Take a look at new ways to access OED data, including the OED Researcher API and the OED Text Visualizer.
Video guides: Take a look at our short guides to help you get the most out of your OED access.
This database is the world's largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Produced by the American Psychological Association, it is an indispensable tool for the discovery of global scholarly research. This is primarily abstracts, not full-text unless HCU subscribes to that journal. You can request articles from interlibrary loan for email delivery between 24-72 hours.
Content notes:
* Coverage dates back to the 17th and 18th centuries, with extensive coverage from the 1800s to the present
* Authored and edited books and book chapters
* Dissertations selected from Dissertation Abstracts International (Sections A and B)
* Publications from more than 50 countries
* Journals published in 29 languages
This database is an authoritative source of structured information about tests of interest to a variety of fields. Produced by the American Psychological Association, it provides access to thousands of actual test instruments, most of which are available for immediate download and use in teaching and research. This includes validity and reliability.
Includes thousands of actual test instruments. Cover fields of psychology, psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work among others.
Professionally indexed, APA PsycTests makes it easy to download select ready-to-use research instruments, including a wide range of reliable measures never made commercially available. Extensive coverage along with thousands of research instruments makes APA PsycTests an ideal starting point for researchers initiating new research projects.
APA PsycTests indexes a wide variety of test types and instruments including aptitude tests, personality scales and cognitive functioning measures.
Research instruments available as PDF downloads or multimedia files
Select measurements available in more than 40 languages
Coverage spanning more than 100 years, with a strong emphasis on current research instruments.
The indexing employed in APA PsycTests allows for intuitive searching and browsing, providing detailed results using a variety of customized fields, including construct and research instrument type.
ScienceDirect provides access to more than 18 million articles and book chapters from over 1,750 active journals and 39,000 books to help users discover more novel science, use their time efficiently, and make decisions with the highest-quality scientific information.
Our collection includes Physical Sciences and Engineering, Life Sciences, Health Sciences, Social Sciences, and Humanities (including Arts, Business, Education, Management and Accounting, Decision Sciences, Economics, Econometrics and Finance, and Psychology).
