LibGuides: NURS 3222: Nursing Databases & Journals

OTHER USEFUL RESOURCES

Multi-Disciplinary Databases
This group of databases is general and covers many different academic disciplines. If you are still not finding something useful, give these a try. It includes Gale Academic One and ProQuest Research Library.

These library resources below are used quite regularly by our students and may be useful as you work with the databases.

Interlibrary Loan - Journal Article Form
Articles can take 24-72 hours to arrive in your Inbox.
Interlibrary Loan Book Form
Our courier service delivers local items every Tuesday and Friday.
Library Classic Catalog
This searches for both E-books and print books. Click the radio buttons or dropdown menus to maximize your options.
Research Paper Help - Includes over 60 short videos and tutorials on a wide variety of topics related to the creation of writing assignments.
Credo Reference
- Need an overview of a topic or more specific details? Credo Reference consists of over 300 reference titles consisting of an aggregate of 3.1 million entries. It is a great place to find biographical information or other general information about concepts and theories. Use the Length filters to get brief or lengthy descriptions (can often include 3-7 page articles and many are appropriate for master's and doctoral levels).
Self-Guided Research Help
The library's 24/7 help center with tutorials and videos on a wide range of research topics.
HCU Answers
Need to find out something about HCU?

Nursing Databases

DISCLAIMER: These databases are provided for educational and informational purposes only, and does not constitute medical advice. The Content is not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. Always seek the advice of your physician or other qualified health provider with any questions you may have regarding a medical condition. Never disregard professional medical advice or delay in seeking it because of something you have read on this database. Information provided in these databases should not be viewed as a means for self-diagnosis or a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. Any personal medical advice taken by patrons based on using these databases alone is taken at your own personal risk. Speak to your physician first.

R2 Library This link opens in a new window
Trial Ends on April 30th

The R2 Digital Library is a web-based database available from Rittenhouse Book Distributors. It offers fully integrated and searchable medical, nursing and allied health, and psychology source book content from key health science publishers, on a web-based platform.

During the trial, the entire database will be open for viewing and use. The Library will monitor what books are used. After the trial, the Library will work with the nursing faculty to select books needed to support the Nursing and Allied Health programs and the entire database will be closed. Only books under consideration for purchase will be viewable.
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Plus® with Full Text is a robust collection of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 770 journals indexed.
This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. CINAHL Plus with Full Text is the core research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature. Full text coverage dates back to 1937.
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window
Provides information for students in health sciences programs, as well as consumers and health care professionals.
This database is the perfect resource for up-to-date information on a complete range of healthcare topics related to patient and consumer health information including fitness, pregnancy, medicine, nutrition, diseases, public health, occupational health & safety, alcohol and drug abuse, HMOs, prescription drugs, etc. Access millions of articles from a wide range of full-text nursing and allied health journals, magazines, newsletters, reference sources, as well as hundreds of health-related multimedia demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries. Includes Gale’s visual Topic Finder tool.
Gale Health and Wellness This link opens in a new window
Authoritative, up-to-date information on health topics.
offers 24/7 access to full-text medical journals, magazines, reference works, multimedia, and much more. Perfect for researchers at all levels, this comprehensive consumer health resource provides authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices.

What dietary habits are associated with developing adult-onset diabetes? Are antioxidants really effective? What new advances have been made in the treatment of HIV/ AIDS? Gale Health and Wellness is your first-stop resource for answers to these and other health-related questions.
Features include:

* An updated, easy-to-navigate interface featuring topic portals with curated content on diseases and conditions; drugs; diagnostics and tests; and therapies, treatments, and surgeries
* A broad collection of premier full-text reference works, including Gale exclusives such as The Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine, The Gale Encyclopedia of Surgery and Medical Tests, and The Gale Encyclopedia of Diets
* Millions of articles from both scholarly medical journals and general-interest health magazines
* Spanish editions of notable content and a Spanish-language search filter
* Streaming video, audio, and images
* Mobile-responsive design
* Google and Microsoft integration
* Citation tools
* ReadSpeaker text-to-speech technology
* Improved translation
Gale OneFile: Nursing and Allied Health This link opens in a new window
Provide access to authoritative content including full-text titles cited in CINAHL supporting specialized care, treatment, and patient management. This essential resource is versatile and features highlighting and note-taking tools as well as an intuitive interface, providing multiple pathways to key information. Updated daily, this resource will help nursing professionals already working in the field, as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum.
Gale OneFile: Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine provides access to academic journals and magazines covering the fields of physical therapy, physical fitness, and sports medicine. The database offers a wide spectrum of information, including proven treatment techniques, experimental research, and more.
Global Literature on Coronavirus Disease (COVID-19) This link opens in a new window
WHO is gathering the latest international multilingual scientific findings and knowledge on COVID-19. The global literature cited in the WHO COVID-19 database is updated daily (Monday through Friday) from searches of bibliographic databases, hand searching, and the addition of other expert-referred scientific articles. This database represents a comprehensive multilingual source of current literature on the topic. While it may not be exhaustive, new research is added regularly.
Health Research Premium Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
The Health Research Premium Collection is uniquely suited for libraries whose users require content for learning and researching medicine and related subject areas including medical and mental health. Our content helps health science librarians meet the research needs of many audiences, whether it’s supporting a clinical research study or providing faculty with instructional multimedia content to help students connect theory to practice.

While other providers tend to focus solely on the information needs of established professionals, ProQuest's unique mix of training content, scholarly literature, and clinical reference materials is accessible to those preparing for a career in healthcare. The variety of source types makes it easier for students and researchers alike to understand new subjects, access relevant literature, and monitor the latest thinking.

JAMA (Journal of the American Medical Association)

MedlinePlus This link opens in a new window
MedlinePlus is a service of the National Library of Medicine (NLM), the world's largest medical library, which is part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH).

Our mission is to present high-quality, relevant health and wellness information that is trusted, easy to understand, and free of advertising, in both English and Spanish. Anywhere, anytime, on any device—for free.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print This link opens in a new window
Produced by the Buros Center for Testing at the University of Nebraska, this resource is essential for evaluating contemporary testing instruments. Designed for novices and professionals alike, it contains full-text reviews for test products in psychology, education, business and leadership. In addition, it provides a bibliography to all known commercially available English-language tests currently in print. Much more detail in the More Info section.
All Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) entries contain descriptive information (test purpose, publisher, pricing, population and scores) and edited reviews written by leading content area experts. To be included in the MMY, a test must be commercially available, published in the English language and be new or revised since it last appeared in the series.

Content Includes:
• Full-text reviews of 3,000+ contemporary testing instruments
• All previous editions of the yearbook dating back to 1938 (10,000+ full-text reviews)
• Tests In Print (TIP) — a bibliographical database to all known commercially available English-language tests currently in print.
MicroMedex Professional 2.0 This link opens in a new window
Micromedex is a significant resource for our nursing students. Click the More Info button for more about the variety of modules and smartphone options!
MODULES

1. Clinical Knowledge: Medication, Disease and Toxicology Management

- Evidence based clinical resources to support informed diagnosis and treatment decisions.
- Unbiased, referenced Clinical Decision Support (CDS) for medication, toxicology, disease, and alternative medicine.
- Safely and reliably manage drug therapy for pediatric and neonatal patients with NeoFax and Pediatrics evidence-based drug information.
- RED BOOK for drug pricing, drug data, and manufacturer information.

Find information about additional Micromedex at https://www.ibm.com/watson/health/provider-client-training/micromedex/

2. Formulary: Facility wide Formulary Management

- Easy-to-use online tool to effectively manage and update hospital formulary and communicate the most current information facility-wide.

3. Patient Connect: CareNotes

- Provides patients with complete, easy-to-understand patient education handouts.
- Patient education for conditions and diagnoses, labs, and procedures, written for every stage of care.
- Medication Instructions deliver a single source of evidence-based patient education.
- Documents are written at a 5th-7th grade reading level, and are available in up to 15 languages.

4. Medication Essential Fact Sheets

- Short and to-the-point drug information that supports better patient understanding and adherence.
- Helps improve medication-related Hospital Consumer Assessment of Healthcare Providers and Systems (HCAHPS) scores.

For more information about CareNotes Patient Education and Medication Essential Fact Sheets, visit https://www.ibm.com/watson/health/provider-client-training/micromedex-carenotes/

5. Pharmaceutical Knowledge: A Role-Based Solution for Pharmaceutical Professionals

- A tailored interface providing trusted evidence and global guidance with a Pharmaceutical perspective.
- Enhanced for advanced searching, ability to compare drug results, and aggregation with other information resources.

MOBLE APPS

There is an app for MicroMedex for our nursing students! According to iTunes and Google Play, MicroMedex has several apps:

•Micromedex Drug Int.
•Micromedex Drug Ref
•Micromedex IV Comp
*Micromedex Pediatrics
* NOTE: We do not have NeoFax.

When I click into MicroMedex website via desktop for our campus, it appears that we have access to those on the web version, so we should access via the app as well. Librarians are not nurses and don't use the app but wanted clarification on how our nursing students can login to these apps. On campus, they would have to validate through our proxy server. I would doubt the app has that capability, so we wanted to find out how they can successfully login as our student.

Solution:
You can find the passwords for Micromedex by logging into our subscription. On the top corner of the Micromedex homepage, in the upper right corner, look for the Mobile Application Access link. Click it will take you to IBM mobile Micromedex page. Now, please click on Micromedex Native Mobile Apps which will take you to the mobile passwords page. The passwords must be entered exactly as they appear onscreen. Please keep this email for future reference to find the passwords, as needed. We recommend doing this over a laptop or desktop. Passwords are only good for one year. You lose access sometime, so check the password.
Nursing Full Text Plus (OVID) This link opens in a new window
The library subscribes to only five journals from OVID: The American Journal of Nursing, Journal of Nursing Administration, Nurse Practitioner, Nursing Management, and Nursing2020. If you discover other articles of interest from other journals, you will need to submit an interlibrary loan request form to request them.
Occupational Outlook Handbook This link opens in a new window
Occupational Outlook Handbook is produced by the Bureau of Labor Statistics. It includes career information which is designed to provide valuable assistance to individuals making decisions about their future work lives and describes what workers do on the job, working conditions, the training and education needed, earnings, and expected job prospects. It is updated every two years.
Check out their video: Using the Occupational Outlook Handbook for Your Career Search.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed® comprises more than 32 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central, publisher web sites, including journals to which HCU subscribes, such as JAMA.

The PubMed database does not include full text journal articles; however, links to the full text are often present when available from other sources, such as the publisher's website or PubMed Central (PMC).
PubMed is a free resource supporting the search and retrieval of biomedical and life sciences literature with the aim of improving health–both globally and personally.

Available to the public online since 1996, PubMed was developed and is maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH).
PsycTests This link opens in a new window
This database is an authoritative source of structured information about tests of interest to a variety of fields. Produced by the American Psychological Association, it provides access to thousands of actual test instruments, most of which are available for immediate download and use in teaching and research. This includes validity and reliability.
Includes thousands of actual test instruments. Cover fields of psychology, psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work among others.

Professionally indexed, APA PsycTests makes it easy to download select ready-to-use research instruments, including a wide range of reliable measures never made commercially available. Extensive coverage along with thousands of research instruments makes APA PsycTests an ideal starting point for researchers initiating new research projects.

APA PsycTests indexes a wide variety of test types and instruments including aptitude tests, personality scales and cognitive functioning measures.

Research instruments available as PDF downloads or multimedia files
Select measurements available in more than 40 languages
Coverage spanning more than 100 years, with a strong emphasis on current research instruments.

The indexing employed in APA PsycTests allows for intuitive searching and browsing, providing detailed results using a variety of customized fields, including construct and research instrument type.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect provides access to more than 18 million articles and book chapters from over 1,750 active journals and 39,000 books to help users discover more novel science, use their time efficiently, and make decisions with the highest-quality scientific information.

Our collection includes Physical Sciences and Engineering, Life Sciences, Health Sciences, Social Sciences, and Humanities (including Arts, Business, Education, Management and Accounting, Decision Sciences, Economics, Econometrics and Finance, and Psychology).

NURS 3222: Nursing Databases & Journals

Definitions- Quick.

OTHER USEFUL RESOURCES

Nursing Databases

Recommended: