Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

What you need to know now: Specialized Searches

Searching in a Nutshell

Steps for Using CINAHL Headings or MEDLINE MESH

Using CINAHL Headings or MEDLINE MESH (medline subject headings) will allow you to narrow your search using specialized terms that MATCH your database and discipline.  Each database can have its own specialized vocabulary and subject heardings. The MESH, Thesaurus or  Subject searches from the top of the Advanced Search Interface will allow you to find these specialzed terms before you search.

To get to the Moody Library Databases and either CINAHL or MEDLINE with MESH (both from EBSCO) follow these steps:

Go the Moody Library Homepage:  ( http://www.hbu.edu/Moody)

Click on the Top Left See Find Articles Using Databases

On the Left of this page you will see a list of general databases; on the right a long list of all the Moody Library Databases including CINAHL and  other Nursing Databases.

Use the tab on the top for Nursing & Kinesilogy. 

Now you will see CINAHL and several Medline databases listed. (MEDLINE PubMed, Medline Plus, and MEDLINE with MeSH (EBSCO)

You should use the MEDLINE with MeSH or CINAHL. From Off Campus Login with your HBU NETWORK or HBU Protal Login and Password.

 

Note:

If you limit your search first to Any Nurse as Author, Peer Revew etc.  then use the use the CINAHL Headings or Medline MeSH headings first-the search string has been pasted into the Search Box- Click on Advanced Search. The search string stays but you must then add your limits like Peer Reviewed and/or Nurse as Author etc. 

Using CINAHL Plus Full Text Using MEDLINE with MeSH
Note the Question Mark Icon By Search Clear. This will explain how to use this database.  Note the Question Mark Icon By Search Clear. This will explain how to use this database. 
Example Topic: Schizophrenia. Your professor asked you to Using Advanced Search Mark Any Author is Nurse. (First Author is Nurse is also available.) (Mark necessary years, Peer Review, and/or Full Text.) Example Topic: Schizophrenia
See CINAHL Headings on top. Click this. See MeSH in the top blue line. Click this.
See the search text box. See choices for Term Begins With , Term Contains, or Relevancy Ranked. Pick the one you want. Try Term Contains. Note:  See Video Tutorials.
Note:  See Video Tutorials. See the search text box. See choices for Term Begins With , Term Contains, or Relevancy Ranked. Pick the one you want. Try Term Contains.
Type in schizophrenia. Browse.  Type in schizophrenia. Browse. 
See the Blue Question Mark next to Explode Major Concept and Scope.  This will explain this process. See the Blue Question Mark next to Explode Major Concept and Scope.  This will explain this process.
Check the MAIN heading Schizophrenia....Note the Blue Column that appears titled Subheadings for Schizophrenia. Check the MAIN heading Schizophrenia....Note the Blue Column that appears titled Subheadings for Schizophrenia.

 Pick needed items. Now hit Search Database on the LEFT.  (MH "Schizophrenia/CL/DI/DT/EP/FG/PA/PC/PR/PF/RF/SS")

Now: Click on Advanced Search (search text boxes) and narrow by RESEARCH ARTICLE (IF THIS IS REQUIRED), PEER REVIEW, YEARS NEEDED, ANY AUTHOR AS NURSE, FULL TEXT (OR NOT IF YOU USE LINK SOURCE).

Pick needed items. Now hit Search Database on the LEFT. 

Now: Click on Advanced Search under the three search text boxes and set the required limits.