PSYC 4390: Home

The PSYC 4390

10 Peer Reviewed Articles & Questionnaire/s

Topic: Original Research. Relationship between hours of sleep and academic performance

(Age, environment, academic performance, outside influences etc. How much sleep needed per age group for what level of academic performance- pre-k, kindergarten, elementary school, middle school, junior high, high school, secondary, primary, post-secondary, college, university, graduate, undergraduate? Does the need for sleep change or fluctuate depending on age or level of study?)

1. Find studies published in peer reviewed journals on your sleep and academic performance
   1. Find 10 peer-reviewed articles/studies on sleep and academic performance;
   2. The articles must not be published before 2007.
2. Find an established questionnaire that lists how valid and reliable it is when it comes to measuring how much sleep the subjects get at night. Academic Performance can be gathered in demographic data?

*= Truncation Symbol. Takes the root of a word and many suffixes (s, ation, -fy, -ing, -it is).

Find Research & Borrowing Assistance, Measurement/ Instrument Books,  Academic Success Center for tutoring, Books & Current and Older Journals both print and online,  MicroReaders and Printer,  Copiers and Printers.

 

REMEMBER:

Entering the Library and Checking out – YOUR HCU ID

Signing into Library Databases- same logon as MY.HCU.EDU but without the @hc.edu

 See APA style tab for online helps/guides; visit the Library Reference Desk or schedule a ASC tutor.

Add money to your on campus printing account at https://myprint.hbu.edu

The Library’s Homepage hc.edu/moody   for  Library Services (InterLibrary Loan) but first check Journal Locator (Journals Title Name)  and the Library Catalog (Books & Journals etc.). Instructions are below in "Does HCU Moody Library have the journal I need...."

LibGuides- Psychology (APA) and Others.

Steps to Databases: Library Homepage/ Scroll Down to the 9 Boxes. Click on OneSearch & Databases. Use the Psychology tab etc. Sign in if off campus.

OneSearch & Databases (Left Side).  Use these for articles on your topics; see the  tabs above.  Your Topic:  The databases you choose to use might depend on your topic.  For Psychology- PsycArticles, PsycINFO, Psychology and Behavioral Sciences, Science Direct, ProQuest Research Library. For Education --ERIC, Professional Development Collection. For Nursing- CINAHL & Medline. For Business visit the tab for Business. Some Professors do not want you to limit to Full Text.   Other Databases. More specialized ones like PsycInfo might be beneficial.

      EasyBib – where is it? What is it?

      HCU One Search.  (Searches all databases and library catalog.)

Steps to Find what Books, Movies, e-books, journals (Left Side)

For finding books and ebooks etc. use the Library Catalog.  We use Library of Congress Subject Headings.  For example searches in our online catalog try  http://hbu.libguides.com/tipsonlinecatalog

Search only for e-books:

Ebrary-

EBSCO- (Make an account in any EBSCO database or here to read from home.)

Does HCU Moody Library have the journal I need:

       Check to see if we have a specific Journal by searching the JOURNAL NAME in these places:

                             A. Journal Locator  (Is it in an online database?)

                             B. Find Books, Journals and More in the Library Catalog; limit to Periodicals

                                          (These will be in various formats in the library - bound, microfiche or microfilm)

                             C. You may also check here: Periodicals available at Moody Library.

                              If we do not have it try these: (InterLibrary Loan) or have a librarian help you with a   TexShare Card

     What is a Peer-Reviewed Journal? 

                  (San Diego State Univ. Library & Information Access).

 

 

Sleep*	time	education
insomnia	duration	academic
	length	Academic achievement
	hours	Academic performance
	log	Perform*
	Time management	Achiev*
		grades

	Fall and Winter Semester Hours Monday -Thursday 7:30 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.** Friday 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. Saturday 12 noon - 6:00 p.m. Sunday 2:00 p.m. - 12:00 a.m.**      **HCU students only       after 8:00 p.m.  (different in Summer Term)
	Mobile Site: http://hbu.edu/moodymobile
	Reference Desk: 281-649-3180 Stop by for a one-on-one visit or request an appointment.
	Circulation Desk: 281-649-3304
	SMS Texting (518) 633-4687
	Need after hours help? HCU LibGuides
	Have More Questions? Email