LibGuides: EDSP 5302 Cohort: Home: Tips & Databases

How to limit to Peer Reviewed Journals in EBSCO

Moody Library Web Site Overview with CloudSearch Demo
This video gives a visual overview and description of the various portions of the library's website. It also includes a demo of CloudSearch.
Research Help Center
Target Audience: All Students, Faculty
Contains over 60 tutorials pertaining to a wide range of topics specific to writing research papers. Many of these are short videos. This link will take you to the home page where you can view the wide range of topics including how to search find what you really need, citations, understanding data, how to improve your thinking, how to evaluate information, and much more!
Improving Your Database Search Skills and Results
Target Audience: All Students, Faculty, Staff

Instruction Videos - includes PsycTests, samples searching for kinesiology and education, Mental Measurements, ERIC, APA, and interlibrary loans. Recorded by our former Instruction Librarian, Diane Casebier.
Using Mental Measurements Yearbook (Diane Casebier)

How to Use the Classic Library Catalog
Target Audience: All Students, Faculty, Staff
How to Renew Books Online
Target Audience: All Students, Faculty, and Staff.
Assists in knowing the process to renew books online from off-campus.
Handy, Dandy Library Tutorial for Students
Handy, Dandy HCU Technical Resources Tutorial
Target Audience: All Students, Faculty, Staff
Covers HCU systems, how to login, HCU's help desk, on-campus printing, and much more! Some of this can impact access to your library research.
How to Print Using HCU's MyPrint Web Site
Target Audience: Students.
Covers how to print, where to print, how to add money to your balance, and how to print from your iPhone or iPad.
Information Literacy Modules
Target audience: Students.
These modules have been designed by librarians to give you a solid foundation in information literacy and critical thinking. Topics have been divided among six modules; getting started with research, sources of information, searching for information, evaluating information, presenting research and data, and citations and academic integrity. Each includes videos, tutorials, and optional quizzes. All of this is designed to be brief and get you on your way. Feel free to make a quick visit or take the whole course one session at a time (complete with graded quizzes) and get ahead of the research game! Skills are transferable to all disciplines.

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect provides access to more than 18 million articles and book chapters from over 1,750 active journals and 39,000 books to help users discover more novel science, use their time efficiently, and make decisions with the highest-quality scientific information.

Our collection includes Physical Sciences and Engineering, Life Sciences, Health Sciences, Social Sciences, and Humanities (including Arts, Business, Education, Management and Accounting, Decision Sciences, Economics, Econometrics and Finance, and Psychology).
Education Resource Information Center (U.S. Government Website) This link opens in a new window
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and research. This URL takes patrons to the government's interface, NOT EBSCO. There is a difference in search capabilities and result presentation.
The database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. Content includes journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, dissertations and theses, and books dating back to 1966.

NexisUni (formerly Lexis-Nexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, federal, and state cases including state laws. including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. Also includes full text news, business, education, medical and reference information.
Open Access Theses and Dissertations (OATD) This link opens in a new window
OATD.org aims to be the best possible resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Metadata (information about the theses) comes from over 1100 colleges, universities, and research institutions. OATD currently indexes 5,835,480 theses and dissertations.