Biblical Languages: Hebrew Resources

This Bible presents in one volume the two most important ancient texts of the Old Testament--the Hebrew according to the Masoretic Text and the Greek according to the Septuagint--together with the modern English of the New International Version.

A combined scriptural index for 14 reference grammars and reference works on syntax published in English or in German.

For years scholars of biblical poetry have defined parallelism as the simple correspondence of one verse, phrase, or word with another. In this book, Adele Berlin approaches biblical parallelism as a linguistic phenomenon, as a complex interplay among all aspects of language. Her goal is to get at the basics of what biblical parallelism is and how it works. Berlin's examination of the grammatical, lexical, semantic, phonetic, structural, and psychological aspects of parallelism yields an elegantly simple model that reveals the complex workings of this phenomenon.

"This second volume in the Baylor Handbook on the Hebrew Bible series provides expert, comprehensive guidance in answering significant questions about the Hebrew text. While reflecting the latest advances in scholarship on Hebrew grammar and linguistics, the work utilizes a style that is lucid enough to serve as a useful text for teaching and self-study."--BOOK JACKET.

A Biblical Hebrew reference grammar in English, with an introduction and 3 main parts: 1) Elementary principles, or the sounds and characters, 2) Etymology, or the parts of speech, and 3) Syntax. There are three indices: subject, Hebrew words and forms, and scripture.

An English translation and revision of Joüon's Grammaire which "is rightly recognized for its treatment of syntax; it is the only full reference grammar that treats it so well, even though one has to admit today that the study of Hebrew syntax has gone beyond it." (Fitzmyer) The revision and updating of the grammar takes into account monographs and articles published since about 1920 (Preface). The grammar consists of 2 volumes, with 3 parts: 1) Orthography and Phonetics, 2) Morphology, and 3) Syntax, and includes subject and scripture indices.

"This is a modern linguistic study of Biblical Hebrew syntax, intended for self-study and also as a reference grammar. Some 3500 examples illustrate the points of syntax discussed." (Fitzmeyer)

Contents: v. 1. An introduction to approaches and problems -- v. 2. A survey of scholarship, a new synthesis and a comprehensive bibliography.

Klein's Dictionary covers all levels of the Hebrew language, from words already archaic in the Bible to the coinages and loanwords used in contemporary Hebrew. Etymologies are given for all words, even loans from other languages. The entries form a fairly comprehensive list: one rarely is sent to another entry without a definition, even with words clearly of secondary derivation.

"An abbreviated English form of KB ...; it used as much of HALAT as was available at the time and supplied the rest from KB. It is intended for students beginning their study of biblical Hebrew and Aramaic and is well suited for that purpose." (Fitzmyer)

"This dictionary is intended for English speakers with a basic knowledge of Hebrew and a keen desire to read the Bible in its original language"--Foreword.

"The Dictionary of Classical Hebrew": incorporates all Hebrew from the earliest times to c.200 CE; includes all the data from Ben Sira (Ecclesiasticus), the Dead Sea Scrolls and related texts, and the Hebrew inscriptions down to 200 CE; lists and analyses all occurrences of every Hebrew word (with the exception of a few very common words); gives an English translation of every Hebrew word and phrase cited in the dictionary; provides statistics for the number of occurrences of each word in each of the four corpora of Hebrew; concentrates on the common words rather than the rare ones; indexes all the nouns to their verbal "root" and all the verbs to their "derived" nouns; is systematically based on modern linguistic principles; contains a word-frequency index and a list of all the sources for the Hebrew language, including all the manuscripts from Qumran; provides a comprehensive bibliography to scholarly studies on individual Hebrew words and an English-Hebrew index

An English translation, with some updating, of Hebräisches und aramäisches Lexikon zum Alten Testament. von Ludwig Koehler und Walter Baumgartner. 3. Aufl. neu bearbeitet von Walter Baumgartner unter Mitarbeit von Benedikt Hartmann und E. Y. Kutscher. [HALAT]

"The dictionary includes both Biblical Hebrew and Aramaic; words are not arranged alphabetically, but according to roots, sometimes more putative than real. Though the etymologies usually need scrutiny and many translations must now be corrected, this work is still valuable for its abundance of references to biblical passages and its listing of Hebrew or Aramaic idioms, which more modern lexica often curtail. For the corrected impression, G.R. Driver inserted only those corrections which could be made without resetting the sheets. This lexicon was based on an English translation of one by W. Gesenius, which in later editions has been a valuable reference tool. BDB has been reissued: The New Brown-Driver-Briggs-Gesenius Hebrew and English Lexicon with an Appendix Containing the Biblical Aramaic (Peabody, MA: Hendrickson, 1979). The Addenda and Corrigenda grouped previously in an appendix have been moved to the bottom margin of pages to which they refer. The Hebrew or Aramaic words have been coded to the numbering system of Strong's Concordance, and an important index has been added. All of this makes this old lexicon a still valuable tool for study." (Fitzmyer)

The Semantic Dictionary of Biblical Hebrew (henceforth SDBH) project is carried out under the auspices of the United Bible Societies. It was launched in the year 2000. Its aim is to build a new dictionary of biblical Hebrew that is based on semantic domains, comparable to Louw and Nida’s Greek-English Lexicon of the New Testament, which was first published in 1989.

Now available in English, this standard German lexical reference provides a wealth of theological insight for academic study of the Old Testament, as well as for preaching and teaching. The entries have been updated to reflect new editions and English translations of the bibliographic references.

This monumental reference work contains studies of all the important words of the Old Testament and is particularly written for the busy pastor or church worker who may not possess all the technical tools of Bible scholarship.

A unique addition to the small number of Hebrew-English, English-Hebrew dictionaries available. Most use Hebrew characters for the Hebrew words; Baltsan's innovation makes the primary access to a Hebrew word its transliteration to Roman characters. The nonvowelized Hebrew word follows the transliterated entry and is then defined. Baltsan defines approximately 50,000 words, including terms describing certain Jewish religious concepts and various Israeli social-political terms (such as names of political parties).

First appearing in 1843, this book os a standard reference work for the study of the Hebrew Old Testament. This new edition incorporates Strong's Exhaustive Concordance.

The Hebrew-English Concordance to the Old Testament is the exhaustive index to the Biblia Hebraica Stuttgartensia, 4th edition, and the Hebrew text underlying the New International Version of the Bible. FEATURES: * Lists all occurrences of a given Hebrew word (even when there is no direct English equivalent) in Hebrew alphabetical order* Shows the interrelationship between the English and Hebrew texts, including redundant cognates and repeated Hebrew words, as well as multiple-word translations* Uses the Goodrick-Kohlenberger numbering system (with cross-reference to Strong's numbers), allowing for accurate identification of Hebrew words and use with The NIV Exhaustive Concordance* Keyed to Brown, Driver, and Briggs' Hebrew and English Lexicon, Koehler and Baumgartner's Hebrew and Aramaic Lexicon, and Holladay's Concise Hebrew and Aramaic Lexicon* Complete NIV-to-Hebrew index

Features include: all words, whether Hebrew or Aramaic in one alphabet, all names appear in full, main uses and meaning of each entry are given.

The Hebrew words of each verse of the Hebrew Bible are listed in the order in which they occur in the verse, followed by the grammatical identification, the page number for BDB, the verbal root in some cases, and the paragraph number of Gesenius-Kautzsch-Cowley when there is an explanation of the word there, and an English translation. (Preface)

The literature embraced in this Dictionary covers a period of about 1000 years, and contains Hebrew and Aramaic elements in about equal proportions.

Multi-volume Bible dictionary. Alphabetical by topic, entries are transliterated from the Hebrew. The focus in this dictionary is both linguistic and theological. Entries provide in-depth discussions of the key Hebrew and Aramaic words in the Old Testament. Contributors are international scholars from diverse religious traditions and thus exhibit a diversity of theological viewpoints. Entries typically treat the head term along with cognates and semantically related lexemes. Included is etymological analysis (which may involve investigation of sources in other ancient Near Eastern languages), a survey of the number and distribution of occurrences in the Old Testament, an overview of characteristic syntactical contexts, delineation of the semantic field, consideration of the theological significance of the data, and a bibliography. Frequently, translation equivalents that are found in the Septuagint are mentioned and, where relevant, usage in the Dead Sea Scrolls is discussed. Here and there, reference is made to rabbinic usage and apocryphal/pseudepigraphal connections. This is an important reference work for scholars working in the original language of the Hebrew scriptures.

The Torah: A Modern Commentary is a one-volume edition of the Five Books of Moses, complete with the Hebrew text; English translations; commentaries and essays; notes and references; and gleanings from talmudic sources and the writings of scholars, ancient and modern.