Biblical Languages: Greek Resources

Greek and English in parallel columns.

"Though this grammar was written over a long period of time, it is a good comprehensive grammar of NT Greek; parts of it would not be as up-to-date as BDF." (Fitzmyer)

Standard grammar for Septuagint (LXX) Greek that presents only differences between NT and LXX Greek grammar and usage.

A running lexical and grammatical analysis of New Testament words and phrases, together with frequent exegetical comments.

A descriptive Greek reference grammar with an introduction and 4 main parts: 1) Letters, Sounds, Syllables, Accent; 2) Inflection; 3) Formation of Words; and 4) Syntax. There is an appendix: with a list of verbs, and English and Greek indices.

An intermediate NT Greek grammar, which focuses on syntax and the relationship of syntax to exegesis. This grammar is intended to be both a teaching grammar and a reference grammar. There is a scripture index. (Preface)

A reference grammar for New Testament Greek, in English, with an introduction and 3 main parts: 1) Phonology, 2) Accidence and Word-Formation, and 3) Syntax. There are subject, Greek words and forms, and references indices. The references index includes references to the NT, the Apostolic Fathers, the NT Apocrypha, the Pseudo-Clementine Literature, and the Septuagint. Fitzmyer writes: "It is at present the most authoritative NT Greek grammar."

Standard lexicon for the entire Septuagint.

These proceedings include 17 papers ranging from the conceptual to the specific in this wide-ranging field and include issues of translation and examinations of specific Hebrew Bible texts. They include coverage of the Kaige recension and its continuing existence, approaches in translation studies and their use for the study of the Septuagint, vocalization in the Hebrew text of the Torah, the provenance and profile of the Greek Joshua and his purpose, Jael and Mary as blessed above or among women, David's problematic return to Ziklag, the old Greek Job and his contexts, Chrysostom and the Septuagint, a still-undefined word that occurs too often, issues of the Old Greek Psalter, the real eroticism in the Song of Songs, a reorganization of prophecy, the song in the Septuagint, the date of Ezekial, and translating 2 Maccabees in a whole new way. Annotation ©2007 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR

The Concise Greek-English Lexicon offers extended definitions or explanations in idiomatic English for all Greek terms. Each entry includes basic etymological information, short renderings, information on usage, and plentiful biblical references. Greek terms that could have different English definitions, depending on context, are thoughtfully keyed to the appropriate passages. An overarching aim of The Concise Greek-English Lexicon is to assist the reader in recognizing the broad linguistic and cultural context for New Testament usage of words.

"This excellent lexicon, mainly devoted to classical Greek, frequently includes references to the LXX and the NT. It is especially useful for tracing the early history of a NT word or for determining its etymology." (Fitzmyer)

This lexicon classifies the Greek words and idioms of the New Testament according to shared and distinctive semantic features. The words are grouped in categories called semantic domains, which are listed on pg xxiv-xxv, following the introduction to the lexicon. The domains are further divided into subdomains, which are listed at the beginning of each domain section. The Greek lexical forms with their definitions are listed under the subdomain headings. The second volume contains three indices; a Greek-English index, an English index, and a passage or scripture index.

The third edition has utilized much of the new material that Bauer introduced into his 5th ed. and added some other material gathered by the present editors. The Bauer lexicon's "value lies in the attempt to give succinctly the history of the Greek word, indicating its terminus a quo in Greek literature, its use in the LXX, papyri, and later Greek, as well as the NT occurrences themselves. Abundant bibliographical references to articles and books on the word concerned are also supplied."(Fitzmyer)

An abridgement of the larger Greek-English lexicon by Liddell and Scott.

The classic Greek lexicon which has proved invaluable to generations of Greek Testament students and scholars.It provides for each New Testament word its derivation, the Hebrew it represents if found in the Septuagint, its original and derived meanings with illustrations from biblical, classical and modern Greek, the general sense in which it is used in the papyri, its grammatical constructions, and references to other works in which it is discussed. There are also appendices of the irregular verbs of the Greek New Testament, and an alphabetical list of verbal forms.

First published in 1897, this 1978 edition includes a new 78 page supplement based on the 1975 United Bible Societies Greek text.

Designed to be a complete Concordance to the Septuagint version of the Old Testament, to the Greek text of the Apocryphal books, and to the remains of the other versions which formed part of Origen's Hexapla.

The most complete concordance to the Greek New Testament, this book is an exhaustive index to every Greek word in the New Testament, based on the standard United Bible Societies' Greek text (UBS4).

Provides an exhaustive index to three Greek tests: UBS4, Nestle-Aland 26, and the Greek text underlying the New International Version of the Bible. Replaces the venerable by George Wigram, published a century and a half ago. Lists all occurrences of a given Greek word in Greek alphabetical order, shows the relationship between the English and Greek texts, and includes a phrase concordance for phrases such as etc. Annotation c. by Book News, Inc., Portland, Or.

A combined version of The Englishman's Greek Concordance and The New Englishman's Greek Concordance. This concordance traces Greek words and tells--in English--for a given word just how translators interpreted it in all the passages in which the Greek word appears.

The English translation of the three-volume German work, this monumental work by an ecumenical group of scholars is first of all a complete English dictionary of New Testament Greek. Going beyond that, however EDNT also serves as a guide to the usage of every New Testament word in its various contexts, and it makes a significant contribution to New Testament exegesis and theology. EDNT's thorough, lengthy discussions of more significant words and its grouping of words related by root and meaning (with alphabetical cross-references) distinguish it from simpler Greek-English lexicons. Advancing the discussion of the Theological Dictionary of the Old Testament, EDNT summarizes more recent treatments of numerous questions in New Testament study and takes into consideration newer viewpoints of linguistics.

This is only vol. 1 of the 1909 edition.

"A scholarly work of great importance, with signed contributions by many German biblical scholars, treating every word of religious or theological significance in the New Testament. Covers the secular Greek background for each word listed, and its role in the Old and New Testaments and in related texts. Vol. 10 contains indexes of English keywords, Greek keywords, and biblical references, as well as a list of contributors with their contributions and an essay on biblical scholarship, Pre-history of the Theological Dictionary of the New Testament." (Balay)

Reprint of the original edition originally published in 1930.