Biblical Languages: Linguistics Resources

The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Language covers all the major themes of language study, including popular ideas about language, language and identity, the structure of language, speaking and listening, writing, reading, and signing, language acquisition, the neurological basis of language, and languages of the world.

It presents a comprehensive cross-section of languages, ranging from the familiar and well-documented to the relatively obscure. Also included are numerous articles on non-Roman scripts, not featured in the first edition. Dead languages associated with the great cultures of the past--Classical Chinese, Sanskrit, Classical Greek, and Latin--are featured, as well as intriguing isolates like Etruscan and Tangut.

This authoritative dictionary provides concise and informative entries across the whole field of linguistics. Coverage includes the areas of grammar, phonetics, semantics, languages, dialects, and sociolinguistics.

A standard single volume work in the field. Inclues more than 51000 terms grouped in over 3000 entries. Covers phonetics, phonology, syntax, semantics, sociolinguistics, and psycholinguistics.

Articles by some 400 scholarly linguists describe concisely many linguistic sub-specialties and concepts. A useful feature is the large number of articles on specific languages or language families, from Akkadian to Zapotec. Articles are arranged alphabetically, but appendixes group subjects into topic areas and languages into families. A glossary defines terms; cross references and an index direct the reader to the right article. Numerous bibliographies and some excellent illustrations are provided. As the preface indicates, the work is intended for experts, and some articles are quite technical.

Contents: Translating is communicating -- Functions and roles in Bible translating -- Basic issues -- Translating means translating meaning -- Rhetorical functions -- Rhetorical processes -- grammatical meaning -- Lexical meaning

A definitive reference work on the classification of human languages with state-of-the-art freshness and great clarity.

Contents: Selections from the Greek Old Testament.-Selections from the Apocrypha and pseudepigrapha.-Selections from the New Testament.-Selections from Philo.-Selections from Josephus.-Selections from early Christian literature.-Selections from the Greek papyri and inscriptions.-Selections from pagan Hellenistic Greek.

Munday (Spanish studies and translation, U. of Leeds, UK) presents a revised text for students, teachers, and professional translators which provides a critical but balanced survey of many of the most important trends and contributions to translation studies. (Book News)

Contents: Psycholinguistics: an overview / Michael K. Tanenhaus -- Language and cognition / Robyn Carston -- Processes in language production / Merrill F. Garrett -- Language perception / Giovanni B. Flores d'Arcais -- The mental lexicon / Karen D. Emmorey and Victoria A. Fromkin -- Where learning begins: initial representations for language learning / Lila R. Gleitman (et al.) -- Second language acquisition / Ellen Broselow -- Neurolinguistics: an overview of language-brain relations in aphasia / Sheila E. Blumstein -- The biological basis for language / David Caplan -- Linguistics and speech-language pathology / Catherine A. Jackson -- The evolution of human communicative behavior / William Orr Dingwall -- Linguistics and animal communication / Richard A. Demers.

In this classic, the world's expert on language and mind lucidly explains everything you always wanted to know about language: how it works, how children learn it, how it changes, how the brain computes it, and how it evolved. With deft use of examples of humor and wordplay, Steven Pinker weaves our vast knowledge of language into a compelling story: language is a human instinct, wired into our brains by evolution.

Contents: v. 1. An introduction to approaches and problems -- v. 2. A survey of scholarship, a new synthesis and a comprehensive bibliography.

This book provides a comprehensive introduction to the ways in which meaning is conveyed in language. It covers topics normally considered to fall under pragmatics, as well as semantic matters. The author seeks, above all, to display and to explain the richness and subtlety of meaning, and to that end provides abundant examples throughout the text. Numerous exercises (and suggested answers) are provided at every stage.

Contents: Bible translation and receptor response / Johannes P. Louw -- Culture and the form/function dichotomy in the evaluation of translation acceptability / Ernst R. Wendland -- Tackling an Old Testament text (Genesis 15) / Théo R. Schneider -- Translation a New Testament narrative text (Luke 1.1-25)

This book presents a comprehensive overview of the main theoretical concepts and descriptive/theoretical models of Cognitive Linguistics, and covers its various subfields, theoretical as well as applied.

"This book provides an engaging and accessible introduction to semantics for students new to the field. It covers basic concepts and methods and discusses some of the most important contemporary lines of research. The third edition has been completely revised and updated."--BOOK JACKET.

Noam Chomsky's first book on syntactic structures is one of the first serious attempts on the part of a linguist to construct within the tradition of scientific theory-construction a comprehensive theory of language which may be understood in the same sense that a chemical, biological theory is understood by experts in those fields. It is not a mere reorganization of the data into a new kind of library catalogue, nor another specualtive philosophy about the nature of man and language, but rather a rigorus explication of our intuitions about our language in terms of an overt axiom system, the theorems derivable from it, explicit results which may be compared with new data and other intuitions, all based plainly on an overt theory of the internal structure of languages; and it may well provide an opportunity for the application of explicity measures of simplicity to decide preference of one form over another form of grammar.

As a multidisciplinary area, the field of intercultural communication not only draws from many disciplines but also informs many disciplines. For this to happen, however, researchers, educators, and trainers are needed to help bring the insights derived from the intercultural communication field to the attention of those in related areas. This is, in fact, what Katan achieves in this book. The author, an associate professor in translation and a teacher of courses on cross-cultural communication at the Scuola Superiore di Lingue Moderne per Interpreti e Traduttori at the University of Trieste in Italy, is one of those persons who serves as a bridge across interrelated fields — those of translation and interpretation and cross-cultural studies. In the process, he contributes to and enriches both.

Contents: Introduction: The matrix of translation / Marilyn Gaddis Rose -- Translation: possible and impossible / Eugene A. Nida -- Translation as phantom limb / Douglas Robinson -- translation: who is doing what for / against whom and why? / Andre Lefevere -- Like paths around Combray, humanistic translation theories diverge and converge / / Marilyn Gaddis Rose -- On the nature of scientific and empirical translation studies / Gregory M. Shreve -- Textlinguistics of translation: the textual approach to translation / Albrecht Neubert -- Scholarly concepts: translation or interpretation? / Immanuel Wallerstein -- Translation under the sign of postmodernity / Joanna Bankier -- Functional models and translation equivalence: a pragmatic approach / Rosa Rabadan -- Context: an essential element of language meaning / William H. Snyder -- The impact of neuron-psychological research on the translator's view of concept theory / Sue Ellen Wright -- Translating as instructing versus translating as adapting: how to establish criteria for judging the communicative coherence as a translation / H. Stephen Straight -- Words cannot express..the translation of cultures / Gregory Rabassa -- Translation as social practice: or, the violence of translation / Laurence Venuti -- The political subtext of translation: examples from Francophone literature / Carrol F. Coates -- Gender in / and literary translation / Carol S. Maier and Francoise Massardier-Kenney -- Questions of review / Carol S. Maier -- Translation and libraries: bibliographic searching and data retrieval / Cheryl Spiese McKee --The education of a translator: thoughts on some models for the United States / Gertrud Graubert Champe -- The dilemma of professionalism in American translation studies / Marilyn Gaddis Rose -- Language work at the European Union / Cay Dollerup -- Copyright in the community / Cay Dollerup -- The receding horizon of copyright and permissions / Marilyn Gaddis Rose -- The good for translation / Stephen David Ross -- Afterword: Testaments / Gustavo Segade