LibGuides: Physics: Recommended Web Sites

Suggested Web Sites

arXiv.org e-Print archive
ArXiv is an archive of recent reviews for the following hard sciences: Physics, Mathematics, Non-Linear Sciences, and Computer Science. It is searchable, however, the archive list from which you want to search is a bit confusing.
more...less...
arXiv is an e-print service in the fields of physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, quantitative biology and statistics. The contents of arXiv conform to Cornell University academic standards. arXiv is owned, operated and funded by Cornell University, a private not-for-profit educational institution. arXiv is also partially funded by the National Science Foundation.
Breakthrough Propulsion Physics Program
This site is from NASA (Lewis). The term breakthrough propulsion refers to concepts like space drives and faster-than-light travel, the kind of breakthroughs that would make interstellar travel practical. NASA takes a look at the research into these types of breakthroughs.
Flash Animations for Physics
This site includes Flash animations in the following categories: Chaos, Classical Mechanics, Electricity and Magnetism, Micrometer Caliper, Miscellaneous, Nuclear, Optics, Oscilloscope, Quantum Mechanics, Relativity, Sound Waves, Vectors, Waves. One can also get a demo in how to create Flash animations for physics.
The Nobel Foundation (official site)
Physics Reference Data
From the National Institute of Standards and Technology. Click the "i" icon for more information about the coverage of this database.
more...less...
Coverage includes: physical constants, NIST critically-evaluated data on atomic properties of the elements, atomic spectroscopy data, molecular spectroscopic data, atomic and molecular data, X-ray and Gamma ray data, radiation dosimetry data, nuclear physics data, condensed matter physics data, and other NIST data.
Physics Web Sites
This is a directory of web sites related to physics organized by topic.
Visible Earth (NASA)
Includes photographs of various countries and geographical regions. In addition, it shows atmospheric phenomena, environmental impacts, erosion, solar activity and its effects, tectonics, and biosphere photos.
WWW Virtual Library: Physics
This is another list of web sites for physics organized by topics.