Library research tools on this pages are specifically formatted for smartphone and phablet (phone tablets, larger cell phones) use. They should render well on tablets as well.
These library databases use responsive web pages and will adjust to whatever device you may have. No app needed! The page will automatically use new features when added. Not so with apps, which require regularly updating. For apps, click the "Research Apps" button from the main menu.
Logging in from off-campus: When using the mobile from off-campus, you will see a login screen with a husky. Input your HCU portal ID and password.
Choose all databases or select any combination of individual databases. NOTE: The database options will be greatly reduced after August 28th as the State Library of Texas has ended its contract with EBSCO. Moody Library will still be keeping ATLA, CINAHL, APA PscyTests, APA PsycArticles, APA PsycInfo, APA PsycTherapy, and Mental Measurements Yearbook.
• Index of journals articles, multi-author works, and books reviews in the field of religion. • Created by the American Theological Library Association • Full text availability for more than half of the citations. • 1949 – present
JSTOR offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive (i.e., not current). It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.
Currency of journals will greatly vary by publisher. Some journals date to the 1800s and are nearly full runs except for the most recent issues. If you need a more recent issue, use the citation in an Interlibrary Journal Request Form. request.
All apps available for iPhone. Some have Android apps as noted. Apps include: Drug Information (Android app), Drug Interactions, IV Compatibility (Android app), Pediatric Essentials, and Neofax Essentials.
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, federal, and state cases including state laws. including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. Also includes full text news, business, education, medical and reference information.
APA PsycArticles provides access to 119 journals, including their flagship publication, American Psychologist®. . This database is 100% full-text and is most helpful to our graduate and doctoral students. Be sure to click the More Info button for two APA-produced videos to help with your research.
The database is updated bi-weekly, ensuring your patrons are connected to highly-cited articles revealing the latest psychological findings.
Be sure to check out Finding Psychometric Information about a Test that explains the significance of reliability, validity, and factor analysis fields and how these psychometric properties can help students determine whether a test is suitable for their research needs.
This database is the world's largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Produced by the American Psychological Association, it is an indispensable tool for the discovery of global scholarly research. This is primarily abstracts, not full-text unless HCU subscribes to that journal. You can request articles from interlibrary loan for email delivery between 24-72 hours.
Content notes:
* Coverage dates back to the 17th and 18th centuries, with extensive coverage from the 1800s to the present
* Authored and edited books and book chapters
* Dissertations selected from Dissertation Abstracts International (Sections A and B)
* Publications from more than 50 countries
* Journals published in 29 languages
This database is an authoritative source of structured information about tests of interest to a variety of fields. Produced by the American Psychological Association, it provides access to thousands of actual test instruments, most of which are available for immediate download and use in teaching and research. This includes validity and reliability.
Includes thousands of actual test instruments. Cover fields of psychology, psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work among others.
Professionally indexed, APA PsycTests makes it easy to download select ready-to-use research instruments, including a wide range of reliable measures never made commercially available. Extensive coverage along with thousands of research instruments makes APA PsycTests an ideal starting point for researchers initiating new research projects.
APA PsycTests indexes a wide variety of test types and instruments including aptitude tests, personality scales and cognitive functioning measures.
Research instruments available as PDF downloads or multimedia files
Select measurements available in more than 40 languages
Coverage spanning more than 100 years, with a strong emphasis on current research instruments.
The indexing employed in APA PsycTests allows for intuitive searching and browsing, providing detailed results using a variety of customized fields, including construct and research instrument type.
APA PsycTherapy is a streaming video database of therapy demonstrations with hundreds of videos showing various treatment approaches. APA PsycTherapy is intended for educational purposes, specifically in clinical training and counselor education, and provides clinicians, counselors, and trainees the opportunity to observe candid psychotherapy videos featuring known therapists.
This proven counseling training method is an invaluable tool to remain abreast of the latest psychotherapy techniques. Therapists cover more than 100 approaches, such as integrated behavioral healthcare, cognitive behavior therapy and acceptance and commitment therapy. All therapy demonstrations in APA PsycTherapy are unscripted and were taped within the past ten years.
The lists can get long on your smartphones due to the sheer number of resources cited on the guides -- but it is still a great resource and is mobile-enhanced.
