HCU Moody Library for Online Students

It is the policy of Moody Library to purchase current subscriptions for most periodicals in online versions.  They may be found and accessed by using the A-to-Z Publication Locator which is on the Library's Home page.  Users of Moody Library have access to more than 60,000 titles through that list.  Most of the library's databases are about 75-85% full-text. Be aware that even though a journal may be listed, in some instances it may include citations only rather than full-text. If the article looks useful, please make note of the citation and use our Interlibrary Loan forms. Also, some publishers put an embargo on certain journals disallowing full-text access for a certain period of time, which varies by pubisher. If that occurs, please use our Interlibrary Loan form.

Journal Title Search

To Find an Article, Use Database Indexes.

When you want to do general searching (have no citation), but you want to find articles on a subject, by a specific author, or with a known article title, you need to use one or more databases. 

• If you want articles from scholarly, research, peer-reviewed journals, consult the library's Finding Articles with Databases for lists of databases on specific subjects. The page is organized by subject discipline tabs at the top. HCU OneSearch will search about 80% of the library's databases with only one search. Result lists can be hight. Sometimes, it may be better to search a specific database such as CINAHL, PsycINFO, ScienceDirect. Single databases will have few results to check resulting in smaller searches. Be sure to click the Limiting Filter for "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals."
• If you want popular magazines, use a periodical index/database such as  Academic Search Complete or ProQuest. 
• If you want an index to all types of articles, Use HCU OneSearch,  Academic Search Complete or ProQuest Research Library.  To find older articles, try JSTOR.

When You Have the Citation to a Specific Article, You need to Find if Moody Library has the Periodical that Contains the Article

• Use the library's Publication Locator to search for the title.
• If you do not find the journal title, please consult with a librarian. We can help you request the journal article you need through InterLibrary Loan, using the Journal Article InterLibrary Loan Request Form.

Periodicals are continuous publications such as journals, newspapers, or magazines. They are issues regularly (daily, weekly, monthly, or quarterly).

• Periodicals cover events more quickly and concisely than books. It might take several years for a book to appear on a current topic, but periodical articles can appear within a few days of an event, or almost immediately in the case of a newspaper.
• Periodical articles are usually on specific topics. For example, if one is looking for information about a specific disease, one often has to choose a book that covers many diseases, while it always easy to find articles on specific diseases. 
  
• Periodicals are more likely to cover local and state topics.