The following databases index and in many cases provide full-text access to the peer-reviewed journal literature, i.e. secondary literature, of history.
Note: A digital archives such as JSTOR a can be considered a database depending upon the researcher's purpose.
Off-Campus Access
Moody Library is pleased to offer remote access to the library's many databases. The databases are available to currently-enrolled HCU students, faculty, and staff. An HCU network User ID and password is required for proper authentication. Currently, access requires the user name only instead of the full HCU email address as required by the portal.
HeritageQuest Online® resources is a comprehensive genealogical treasure —rich in unique primary sources, local and family histories, convenient research guides, interactive census maps, and more.
Discover the amazing history of you with HeritageQuest Online. With more than 4.4 billion records, it delivers an essential collection of genealogical and historical sources—with coverage dating back to the 1700s—that can help people find their ancestors and discover a place’s past.
Powered by Ancestry®, this amazing collection consists of the following core data sets:
* Census collection contains over 700 million records from the U.S. Federal Census 1790-1940, and national censuses including Argentina, Netherlands, Czech Republic and several other countries.
* Books collection contains over 22,000 family and local histories, compiled genealogies, documentary collections, church records, military records, vital records, city and county histories, and more.
* City Directories with over 1.5 million records from various US city and county directories during 1821-1989.
* Military Records containing over 2 million records from selected state and country military records including the US Revolutionary War Pension and Bounty-Land Warrant Application Files 1800-1900, US Records of Confederate Prisoners of War 1861-1865, and US Remarried Widows Index to Pension Applications 1887-1942.
Wills and Probate Records has more than 170 million pages from the largest collection of wills and probate records in the United States, with searchable records included from all 50 states spread over 337 years (1668-2005).
* Freedman’s Bank contains an index and original images of the Freedman's Savings and Trust Company's registers of Signatures of Depositors 1865-1871.
* US Serial Set (subset) contains more than 140,000 private relief actions, memorials, and petitions drawn from the records published "serial" fashion from the US Senate and House of Representatives 1769-1969.
* Maps & Photos includes US Indexed County Land Ownership Maps 1860-1910, * US Enumeration District Maps and Descriptions 1940, US Indexed Early Land Ownership and Township Plats 1785-1898, and Library of Congress Photo Collection 1840-2000.
With a robust search interface, thumbnail images hit highlighting, easy-to-use tools, and convenient in-library or remote access through the library portal, it’s easy to see why HeritageQuest continues to be one of the most recommended resources by family history publications and genealogists.
JSTOR offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive (i.e., not current). It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.
Currency of journals will greatly vary by publisher. Some journals date to the 1800s and are nearly full runs except for the most recent issues. If you need a more recent issue, use the citation in an Interlibrary Journal Request Form. request.
• Contains the most significant British pamphlets from the 19th century held in UK research libraries
• Presents an immensely rich and coherent corpus of primary sources with which to study the socio-political and economic landscape of 19th century Britain
• Collection contains more than 26,000 pamphlets leading to over 1,000,000 pages of resources. Click More button to see collection types and date ranges.
Collection contains:
• Cowen Tracts (1603-1898)
• Earl Grey Pamphlets Collection (1800-1900)
• Foreign and Commonwealth Office Collection (1545-1900)
• Hume Tracts (1769-1890)
• Knowsley Pamphlet Collection (1792-1868)
• Selections – University of Manchester British Political Pamphlets Collection (1799-1900)
• Selections – London School of Economics and Political Science (1800-1899)
• Selections – University of Bristol (1800-1899)
• Wilson Anti-Slavery Collection (1761-1900)
The digital collections of the Library of Congress contain a wide variety of material associated with Abraham Lincoln, including the complete Abraham Lincoln Papers from the Manuscript Division. This resource guide compiles links to digital materials related to Lincoln such as manuscripts, letters, broadsides, government documents, and images that are available throughout the Library of Congress Web site. In addition, it provides links to external Web sites focusing on Lincoln and a bibliography containing selected works for both general and younger readers.
Contains more than 18,000 pages of eyewitness accounts of North American exploration, from the sagas of Vikings in Canada in AD1000 to the diaries of mountain men in the Rockies 800 years later.
Provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.
Provides digitized copies of newspaper pages from 1880-1910. Also contains directory information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Currently contains the newspapers from 9 states & the District of Columbia, including Texas.
The Civil War Home Page contains thousands of pages of Civil War material including Photos, Images, Battles, Documents, Southern Historical Papers, Troops Furnished, Death Stats, Associations, Letters & Diaries, Census of 1860, Maps, Official Records, Message Board, Dyer's Compendium, Fox's Regimental Losses, Regimental Histories, Genealogy, Biographical Information, Reenacting and Unit Information.
Created by the University of North Carolina, this digital archive presents diaries, memoirs, travel stories, and slave narratives related to the American South.
An electronic archive of two communities in the American Civil War—Augusta County, Va. & Franklin Co., Pa. Includes searchable newspapers, population census data, agricultural census data, manufacturing census data, slaveowner census data & tax records.
Text of the official records of the Union and Confederate Navies in the War of the Rebellion, published by the US Government Printing Office between 1894 and 1922.
