Civil War and Reconstruction

Drawing on a number of Union and Confederate government and military documents as well as more recent scholarship, the authors present a biographical register and analysis of the 3,396 men who most directly influenced the course of the Civil War. They also include a number of essays, tables, and synopses that clarify previously vexing matters concerning army and navy organization, military grades and ranks, command structure, and the chronology of military laws and executive decisions. The book contains about 125 photographs of the principle commanders, and 84 diagrams of insignias used throughout the war.

This multi-volume work provides state-by-state listings of military units which served in the Confederate armies. Entries for each unit establish its identity and present a brief history of its service. Contents: [1]. Alabama -- [2]. Florida and Arkansas -- [3]. North Carolina -- [4]. Tennessee -- [5]. Virginia -- [6].Kentucky, Maryland, Missouri, the Confederate unites and the Indian units -- [7]. Louisiana -- [8]. Mississippi --[9]. South Carolina and Georgia -- [10]. Texas. This set is in the library's circulating collection.

Vol. 2 of this 5 volume set covers 1815 through 1865. It includes the organization of the armed forces and their history during the time frame, biographies of military leaders, and an alphabetical listing of battles and events.

Welcher furnishes "a complete and continuous account of the organization of all Union military divisions, departments, army corps, divisions, and brigades, and the numerous special commands that were in existence during the war." These unit histories include names of commanders and subordinate units, geographical boundaries, important dates, and descriptions of combat activity, as well as detailed information about these units during times of military inactivity. Vol. 1 covers the Eastern Theater and vol. 2 covers the Western Theater, and also includes a detailed index. This set is located in the library's circulating collection.