Civil War and Reconstruction

This 1878 volume is essentially a massive collection of eyewitness accounts of the Civil War. Besides battle scenes, this also includes draft riots in New York and prisoner-of-war recollections.

This revised edition of a vast collection of first-person accounts and landmark documents by soldiers, generals, politicians, presidents, poets, slaves, mothers, and children brings the Civil War to life through the words of those who were there. Journalist Bruun's additions of recent scholarship and historical interpretations to the original material provided by noted historian Commager contribute to a modern view of the war and add an array of new voices to the public record. Each chapter opens with a discussion of the relevant themes, and every selection begins with an introduction establishing the historical, military, or political context. Contains all the momentous documents of the era, as well as new chapters covering the African American war experience, poetry, emancipation, and the period of Reconstruction.

Taylor served at General Lee's side during the entire Civil War, and his personal correspondence sheds light on everyday life at Lee's headquarters and on the general himself. Taylor's letters home recount the Army of Northern Virginia's early triumphs, invasions of the North, defeat at Gettysburg, the siege of Petersburg, and final surrender.

The Papers of Abraham Lincoln provides a thorough account of Lincoln's activities in the courtroom and how his legal practice reflected his views on the Constitution, common law, and individual rights. The multivolume set provides a multitude of examples from Lincoln's legal practice, along with court records and transcripts that provide a broad look at Lincoln the lawyer, as opposed to Lincoln the politician. The text covers the full range of Lincoln's practice, including probate and property, real estate issues, and railroad rights, as well as his participation in criminal law cases. The authors provide a useful introduction and conclusion to each court case, permitting readers to draw their own conclusions without preset bias.

Incomplete contents: v. 1. 1837-1861.--v. 2. April-September 1861.--v. 3. October 1, 1861-January 7, 1862.--v. 4. January 8-March 31, 1862.--v. 5. April 1-August 31, 1862.--v. 6. September 1-December 8, 1862.--v. 7. December 9, 1862-March 31, 1863.--v. 8. April 1-July 6, 1863.--v. 9. July 7-December 31, 1863.--v. 10. January 1-May 31, 1864.--v. 11. June 1-August 15, 1864.--v. 12. August 16-November 15, 1864--v. 13. November 16, 1864-February 20, 1865 -- v. 14. February 21-April 30, 1865 -- v. 15. May 1-December 31, 1865 -- v. 16. 1866 -- v. 17. January 1-September 30, 1867 -- v. 18. October 1, 1867-June 30, 1868 -- v. 19. July 1, 1868 - Oct. 31, 1869 -- v. 20. Nov. 1, 1869- Oct. 31, 1870 -- vl. 21. Nov. 1, 1870 - May 31, 1871 -- v. 22. June 1, 1871- Jan. 31, 1872 -- v. 23. Feb. 1 - Dec. 31, 1872 -- v. 24. 1873. -- v. 25. 1874. -- v. 26. 1875. -- v. 27. Jan. 1 - Oct. 31, 1876.

This 127 volume set reproduces thousands of Union and Confederate telegrams, dispatches, orders, battle reports, and other primary military sources. Also available online from Cornell University.