Civil War and Reconstruction

These cross-listed and newly-illustrated entries of 100-8,000 words are aimed at college students and reach into the future with a 1500-word essay on "9/11." Volume nine, a wonderful addition, contains archival maps and primary documents (with introductions) such as the anonymous story (c. 1745) of the league of five nations (Cayugas, Mohawks, Oneidas, Onondagas, Senecas); an excerpt from Francis Grund's (1837); and Henry Ford's "Advice to the Unemployed in the Great Depression" (1932). Volume nine's other distinctive feature is a division of the into chronological chunks that correlate entries, maps, and documents with relevant chapters in three Wadsworth textbooks: (2000), (2001); and (2002). A six-page guide provides tips on historical research. The over 2000 contributors are from American academies. One caution: the dictionary does not contain biographical entries.

In nearly seven hundred entries, the Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895 documents the full range of the African American experience during that period-from the arrival of the firstslave ship to the death of Frederick Douglass-and shows how all aspects of American culture, history, and national identity have been profoundly influenced by the experience of African Americans. The Encyclopedia covers an extraordinary range of subjects. Major topics such as "Abolitionism," "Black Nationalism," the "Civil War," the "Dred Scott case," "Reconstruction," "Slave Rebellions and Insurrections," the "Underground Railroad," and "Voting Rights" are given the in-depth treatment one would expect. In addition, the Encyclopedia offers brief biographies of important African Americans-as well as white Americans who have played a significant role in African American history-from Crispus Attucks, JohnBrown, and Henry Ward Beecher to Olaudah Equiano, Frederick Douglass, Sarah Grimke, Sojourner Truth, Nat Turner, Phillis Wheatley, and many others.

The set covers all aspects of the Confederacy, including its social, cultural, military, economic, and political histories. Editor Current, a noted Civil War scholar, has assembled 330 contributors who include well-known scholars. The 1,462 entries, ranging in length from 250 to 6000 words, are alphabetically arranged from Daniel Adams to Felix Zollicoffer and are fully cross-referenced. Each is signed by the author and includes a bibliography. Coverage of the subject is excellent, consisting of biographies of leading figures; descriptions of cities, states, and forts; detailed accounts of battles and campaigns; descriptions of government structure and operations; and reports on the cultural and social conditions of the period.

This set offers nearly 600 signed, scholarly entries on main issues and ideas of the "century that made America." The US in the 19th century witnessed incredible changes; these essays, some longer than 3,000 words, capture the essence of this great transformation.The scope is impressive, covering such topics as nationalism, African Americans, movies, literature, life cycle, and midwives. There are no biographical entries, but the editor has conscientiously included ethnic, race, and gender topics.

This two-volume set contains over 1,700 entries including personalities, campaigns, battles, weapons, and other terms. The entries are preceded by an extensive chronology of important events and a lengthy introduction summarizing the causes and outcome of the war. Entries, which are arranged in alphabetical order, contain boldface cross-references and recommended reading lists. Users will find the dictionary a good source for both quick facts and brief summaries of events and military and political persons.

In this encyclopedia, significant events, people, politics, and economic and social themes in the US Civil War and Reconstruction period are covered in 800 alphabetical entries. The encyclopedia includes an extensive chronology (40 pages), a 26-page introductory essay offering a year-by-year narrative account of the war, and an appendix of documents related to the Civil War and Reconstruction.