Skip to Main Content

Psychological Tests and Measures: Finding Tests and/or Information About Them

Searching for Readily Accessible Tests

 
When looking for the actual test use the following steps.
 
  1. Do a search in PsycTests for the name of the test.
  2. Do a Keyword Search in the HCU Library catalog, searching by test name in all fields.  If the test is located in one of HCU's test compilation volumes, an entry will appear.  These test compilation volumes are located on the "Test Center" table, which is in the Library AV Room.
  3. Do a search by test name in a library database that might include tests.  Suggested databases are: Health and Psychosocial Instruments (Hapi); Eric; PsycInfo; ProQuest; or Academic Search Complete. The results of this search might be merely a review or the test, or the results might include the actual test.
  4. Specifically do an advanced search in PsycInfo for the test name, using the Tests and Measures, TM field.  To find actual tests add the following text "pt=test/survey appended" to your advanced search to find articles that include tests.
  5. Search the San Diego State University Test Finder. 
  6. Search the ETS Text Collection Database, TestLink.  It provides digital copies of certain unpublished tests as a service to educators and psychologists.
  7. Search the database: Tests and Measures in the Social Sciences, which is a database created and maintained by Helen Hough of the University of Texas at Arlington.  This site indexes publications that are owned by the University of Texas at Arlington, but many of these are also owned by the HCU library.  Any hits should then be searched in the HCU library catalog.
Permission to use: all testing tools are considered copyrighted, thus you must obtain permission from the copyright holder before using the tool.

Library Test Center Search: See Note below.

Type the name of the the test in the box to search the books in the library's test center for a specific test.

Search the Classic catalog:


  Search:  

 

 

Searching for Proprietary Tests

Steps for searching for information about "published tests":

  1. Search by test name in Mental Measurements Yearbook.  Online access to this title includes the 9th edition to the current edition.  Earlier editions are available in paper form.  All paper editions are located on the "Test Center" table (Call number: Ref.BF176.M45).
  2. Search by test name in one of the other test reviews publications located on the "Test Center" table, such as Test Critiques (Call number: Ref.BF176.T419 1986) or Tests: a Comprehensive Reference for Assessments in Psychology, Education and Business (Call number: RefBF176.T43).
  3. Search by test name in any of the library databases such as PsycInfo,  or Eric.  PsycInfo has a limiting field called "TM Tests and Measures."
  4. Search by test name in the San Diego University Test Finder database.
  5. Search by test name in the Tests and Measures in the Social Sciences database.
  6. Search in the HCU library catalog by the name of the test, eg. Minnesota Multiphasic Personality Inventory.
  7. Search by one of the following subject headings.

a. Ability testing

b. Attitude (Psychology) -- Testing

c. Behavioral assessment

d. Children -- Intelligence testing

e. Computer adaptive testing

f.  Educational surveys

g. Educational tests and measurements

h. Emotional intelligence tests

i.  Employment tests

j.  Examinations

k. Health surveys

l.  Intelligence tests

m.Motivation (Psychology) -- Testing

n. Neuropsychological tests

o. Nursing assessment

p. Occupational aptitude tests

q. Perception -- Testing

r. Personality tests

s. Psychodiagnostics

t.  Psychological tests

u.  Psychometrics

v. Scaling (Social sciences)

w. Sociometry

x. Test bias

y. Values -- Testing

z. Vocational interests -- Testing