Psychological Tests and Measures: Reference Books

TIP is a bibliographic encyclopedia of information on every published test in psychology and achievement. Tests are listed alphabetically, within subjects. Each entry consists of the test title, intended population, publication date, acronym, author, publisher, foreign adaptations, and references. There are five indexes. After you have located a test, turn to MMY for more detailed information about the test, or use the directory of publishers to contact the test publisher.

Tests are listed alphabetically by title. Each entry provides descriptive information, such as the test name, intended population, publication dates, forms and prices, test author, and publisher. It also contains additional information on the extent to which reliability, validity, norming data, scoring and reporting services, and foreign language versions are available. Most entries also include one or more reviews of the test and testing materials by qualified psychologists. There are seven indexes. Moody Library has the 1st through 16th edition of MMY in paper format at the Test Center. It also has an online version of the Ninth through the Seventeenth editions.

What tests are included? The criteria for inclusion in the MMY are that the test be new or revised since the previous yearbook and that the publisher provide documentation supporting the technical qualities of the test.

Includes 20 complete assessment instruments.

Reports latest research, best practices and professional standards.

A dictionary with some 5,000 definitions of key terms in psychological testing, assessment, and treatment, encompassing statistical procedures, major psychometric and other psychological tests, categories of mental illness, commonly used medical terms, basic neuroanatomy, and types of psychological therapies.

In the 5th edition of his very helpful text, Handbook of Psychological Assessment, Groth-Marnat once again assembles information about the history, development, and latest research on the major psychological assessment instruments in current use. He also gives wise and clear advice about the general process of clinical assessment, and about how to integrate information into a useful psychological report. I was particularly fascinated with the sample reports Groth-Marnat assembled from different settings, which give a sense of the breadth of assessment practice today.
This handbook will be extremely useful to students beginning their careers in psychological assessment, and to experienced assessors who want a handy resource when needed.

Background on all aspects of testing.

This book offers both a comprehensive overview of the relevant issues and concerns and a practical set of clinical tools for neuropsychologists assessing and treating Hispanic patients.

Overviews some 90 key assessment tools for depression. Includes reprints of tools.

This book combines the traditional twelve-step program with cognitive behavioral theory and motivational enhancement. Using the American Society of Addiction Medicine chemical dependency treatment model the author provides a step-by-step guide complete with informational handouts, patient schedules, and assessment plans for patient-types. Chapters cover the gamut of treatment issues, including therapeutic alliance, screening, detoxification, biopsychosocial assessment, dual diagnosis, patient orientation, treatment planning, individual therapy, group therapy, case management, crisis intervention, referral, record keeping, and discharge planning.

Designed to be a supplement to the Mental Measurements Yearbook, this 2 volume set focuses on tests developed in the 1990's, which may be less well known.

The four volumes of this reference cover, respectively, intellectual and neuro-psychological assessment, personality assessment, behavioral assessment, and industrial and organizational assessment. Most of the material is not about assessment per se but rather about the tests and instruments available to assessors. The chapters treat construction, validation, cross-validation (which is often extensive), and statistical analysis (which is increasingly sophisticated) of tests, along with hypothetical constructs, theory, limitations, and suggestions for the future.

Summarizes 314 psychological scales, questionnaires, and inventories specific to sport and exercise settings, that have been reported in more than 35 years of referred, international scientific literature. Also includes information on 141 additional tests.

Published in 2007, this volumes enables researchers to determine the types of uncommercial experimental test instruments that are currently in use. Instruments are not evaluated, but the book does describe the basic test properties.

Designed for mental health clinicians, this book provides information on about 275 psychiatric measures plus general information on psychological testing. The accompanying CD-ROM includes complete copies of many of the measures--those in the public domain and some reprinted by permission of the copyright holders.

Many instruments have been developed to measure a myriad of sexuality-related states, traits, behaviors and outcomes. This book reproduces more than 200 instruments, accompanied by essential information for their use in research, educational and clinical settings. Each chapter describes the development and appropriate use of each instrument. Reliability and validity data are summarized and referenced.

This reference set provides descriptions and critiques of psychological tests as well as the actual instruments themselves. Volume one covers instruments for families and for children. Volume two covers instruments for adults.

Measures of Political Attitudes provides political and social scientists with the necessary information to best measure political attitudes and data. Containing side-by-side comparisons of relevant measures, coverage includes political ideology, democratic values, political tolerance, racial-ethnic attitudes, political trust, party identification, and more. Information in each chapter includes a systematic review of reliability and validity evidence as well as placing the scales into a broad historical and research context.

This is an extensive compilation of unpublished measures of religiosity. Over 120 instruments are listed. Each entry includes variables, the history of the intruments' development and use, including limitations for current usage along with norms and standards. Evidence for both reliability and validity are provided, as is the location in press and in subsequent research. Finally, the actual test instrument is appended.

This three-volume set is designed to serve the needs of researchers, evaluators, and clinicians in assessing the instruments used in the field of aging. Over 400 measures are reviewed in the 3 volumes, with topics ranging from formal demography to intelligence and personality. Volume 1 focuses on cognitive reactions to aging of older people. Volume 2 focuses on the range of social roles filled by older people. Specific topics include the family, work and retirement, religion, and friendships. Volume 3 deals with demography, social policy, and health concerns.