Chemistry Resources: Important Chemistry Books: Reference and Circulating

This extensive revision of The ACS Style Guide thoroughly examines electronic tools now available to assist STM writers in preparing manuscripts and communicating with publishers. Valuable updates include discussions of markup languages, citation of electronic sources, online submission of manuscripts, and preparation of figures, tables, and structures. In keeping current with the changing environment, this edition also contains references to many resources on the internet.

Provides "broad coverage of all types of physical science data commonly encountered by scientists and engineers."--preface.

Provides a broad overview of the literature, important research tools, and data depositories or information centers providing chemical information. Expanded coverage includes appropriate updating throughout all of the chapters as well as the addition of new material on the Internet and other electronic sources, a new section on the journal literature, and extensive updating on new products from Chemical Abstracts Service.

This extensively revised handbook contains entries for 10,200 substances covering human and veterinary drugs, biological agents, natural and agricultural compounds, commercial and laboratory chemicals, and expanded green chemistry coverage of environmentally important substances. Entries or "monographs" include chemical name, synonyms and trade names, CAS registry number, molecular weight, percent composition, physical/toxicity data, commercial and therapeutic uses, molecular formula and/or structure, and references on preparation, isolation, patent data, and more.

Revered as the standard reference for chemists for more than 60 years, this new edition of Lange's brings chemistry professionals, students, and anyone interested in science an enormous compilation of facts, data, tabular material, and experimental findings in every area of chemistry. Included in this massive compendium are listings of the properties of approximately 4,000 organic and 1,400 inorganic compounds.

Consultant Balbes outlines some possible career paths for those with an education and background in chemistry who are interested in expanding their professional options beyond the laboratory. Each of 12 chapters provides background information on a nontraditional field (for example, communications, business development, safety, computers, or education) and describes of a variety of positions within that field. Each chapter also contains career histories and advice from successful nontraditional chemists.

"Opportunities in Chemistry Careers" offers you essential information about a variety of careers within chemistry and includes training and education requirements, salary statistics, and professional and Internet resources.

This book serves as an introduction to research in industry in general and the pharmaceutical industry in particular, as well as a career resource. It describes the broader aspects of the drug discovery process and then integrates these aspects with particular jobs in that process.

Write Like a Chemist is a unique guide to chemistry-specific writing. Written with National Science Foundation support and extensively piloted in chemistry courses nationwide, it offers a structured approach to writing that targets four important chemistry genres: the journal article, conference abstract, scientific poster, and research proposal. Chemistry students, post-docs, faculty, and other professionals interested in perfecting their disciplinary writing will find it an indispensable reference.

An authoritative and informative volume that examines the scientific achievements in chemistry for which the Nobel Prize has been awarded. Biographies of all 116 Nobel laureates explore their scientific achievements and their human side.

These well-organized, thoughtfully written volumes provide accessible entries on the people and processes of chemistry. Each entry includes cross referencing of names and terms, a list of bibliography and internet sources. Definitions of terms within each entry are provided in the margins, as are (less frequently) boxes with additional information and illustrations. For chemicals, elements, and their properties entries provide the history of discovery as well as description of its properties and uses. For elements the melting point, boiling point, density, and most common ions are listed. Many biographies are included among the entries, with care to include women chemists and physicists, as are concepts and applications that are found in everyday life. Among the latter are entries on global warming, food irradiation, gardening, glass, recycling, water quality, and various applications in medicine. Each volume includes a glossary and an index.

The 6th edition of a publication originally derived from the Concise Dictionary of Science. Covers all aspects chemistry from physical chemistry to biochemistry.

The Dictionary of Scientific Principles provides the most comprehensive list of known rules or laws—commonly called principles—identified throughout the history of scientific development, along with complete definitions and uses. Exploring a broad range of disciplines, from science, medicine, engineering, and business to philosophy, society, and even art, the Dictionary provides information on everything from the basic fundamental properties, systems, actions, or phenomena that have become accepted in common use to the language of art in science. No other single source contains the breadth of coverage of the collection of principles found in this volume.

This second edition is designed to provide a detailed and comprehensive publication covering all facets of the science and practice of analysis. It includes comprehensive coverage of techniques used for the determination of specific elements, compounds and groups of compounds, in physical or biological matrices. It addresses applications of chemical analysis in all areas, ranging from such topics as medicine to environmental science, and geology to food science. Important characterisation techniques, such as microscopy and surface analysis are also included. The complete work consists of around 610 articles, each consisting of about 4000 words, figures and summary tables.

A reference text for high school- and college-level readers, covering the basic concepts of chemistry and its peripheral disciplines. Arranged in alphabetical order, the 2,000-plus cross-referenced entries include biographies of individuals who have made major contributions. The text also includes four essays on compounds, the functions within a crime lab, molecular modeling, and the presence of chemistry in everyday life, as well as appendices on web resources, chemistry software, the Periodic Table of Elements, chemical reaction types, and metals and alloys.

Supramolecular chemistry, the study of molecules held together by noncovalent bonds, includes fields traditionally considered to belong in chemistry, biochemistry, and physics. This superlative, 1,648-page, compact encyclopedia gives a comprehensive account of the field in 215 signed, alphabetically arranged, eight- to ten-page articles, supported by 20-30 references per article (nearly all published 2000 and later) and abundant black-and-white chemical diagrams and other illustrations of exceptional clarity.

All text in the dictionary was published previously in the McGraw-Hill dictionary of scientific and technical terms, sixth edition, copyright c2003

This standard source is a good choice for libraries supporting a chemistry program at the undergraduate level. Most articles, which are unsigned, have bibliographies of books and journal articles. Built-in cross-references and an excellent index make Van Nostrand easy to use.