Chemistry Resources: Organic Chemistry Resources

This extensively revised handbook contains entries for 10,200 substances covering human and veterinary drugs, biological agents, natural and agricultural compounds, commercial and laboratory chemicals, and expanded green chemistry coverage of environmentally important substances. Entries or "monographs" include chemical name, synonyms and trade names, CAS registry number, molecular weight, percent composition, physical/toxicity data, commercial and therapeutic uses, molecular formula and/or structure, and references on preparation, isolation, patent data, and more.

Industrial Organic Chemistry examines all major industrial manufacturing technologies and reaction types with a focus on organic chemistry in general and petroleum refining in particular. The author takes a systematic approach to introducing the most important classes of organic compounds, from the C1 fraction through to polyaromatics and polymers. The author introduces biological sources for key compounds such as fuel and plastics and compares these bio-based organic materials to the corresponding petroleum-based chemicals. In addition to the chemistry behind processes in the petroleum, pharma, food and agrochemical industries, this book also discusses related topics such as process selectivity, waste management, and product purification.

The search for organic synthesis experimental procedures has been made easier in the current age of computer databases. However, the dilemma now is which procedure one selects among the ocean of choices. Especially for novices in the laboratory, it becomes a daunting task to decide what reaction conditions to experiment with first in order to have the best chance of success. Modern Organic Synthesis in the Laboratory simplifies the process. Full of clear, concise descriptions, this book serves as an "older and wiser lab-mate" by compiling many of the most commonly used experimental procedures in organic synthesis. This unique guide covers fundamental techniques such as chromatography, recrystallization, and residual solvent peaks. It also contains sections on functional group manipulations, oxidations, reductions, and carbon-carbon bond formation.

Providing comprehensive coverage of all important reactions of organopalladium reagents, Palladium Reagents and Catalysts demonstrates applications to organic synthesis, recommending possible future research. Industrial and research chemists working on synthetic methodologies and organometallic reactions as well as organic, natural product, pharmaceutical, organometallic and fine chemical synthesis, will find Palladium Reagents and Catalysts an essential reference source and indispensable research companion.

Investigates 40 organic molecules of natural origin, with intricate structure and biological relevance, including selected antibiotics, anticancer compounds, steroids, pain killers, and more. While the chemical synthesis of each molecule is elaborated, the essays that accompany each subject detail the historical background associated with each compound and the chemist most closely associated with it. (Choice review)

Revered as the standard reference for chemists for more than 60 years, this new edition of Lange's brings chemistry professionals, students, and anyone interested in science an enormous compilation of facts, data, tabular material, and experimental findings in every area of chemistry. Included in this massive compendium are listings of the properties of approximately 4,000 organic and 1,400 inorganic compounds.

This is a convenient reference work that provides tables for physical constants of organic and inorganic compounds as well as spectral data and thermodynamic properties; these sections make up the bulk of the manual. There are more than a thousand pages of tabled data, divided into 11 sections: organic compounds; inorganic and organometallic compounds; properties of atoms, radicals, and bonds; physical properties; thermodynamic properties; spectroscopy; physiochemical relationships; electrolytes, electromotive force, and chemical equilibrium; data useful in laboratory manipulations and analysis; polymers, rubbers, fats, oils, and waxes; abbreviations, constants, and conversion factors.