Chemistry Resources: Biochemistry Resources

This all-in-one compendium of current laboratory techniques for the study of RNA brings together numerous novel methods that were hitherto only available through the primary literature. In more than 300 detailed protocols, all the techniques covered are treating with the user in mind.

Nutritional Biochemistry takes a scientific approach to nutrition. It covers not just "whats"--nutritional requirements--but why they are required for human health, by describing their function at the cellular and molecular level. Each case study either leads to a subsequent discovery or enables an understanding of the physiological mechanisms of action of various nutrition-related processes. The text is "picture-oriented" and the commentary is directed towards explaining graphs, figures, and tables. Nutritional Biochemistry includes a discussion of relevant aspects of physiology, food chemistry, toxicology, pediatrics, and public health. Experimental techniques for nutritional science are emphasized, and primary data is included to help give students a feel for the nutrition literature. This "real-world" approach provides students with a realistic view of the basis for much of our understanding of nutritional biochemistry. * Integrates biochemistry and nutrition in a case-oriented method * Emphasizes a hands-on approach to learning - case histories and clinical and research data illustrate all major points * Places emphasis on metabolism - metabolic pathways, enzymology, nutrient requirements (including RDA values) * Reveals the benefits of the Mediterranean diet, the biochemistry of exercise, the cell signaling pathways, how nutrition can influence the development of cancer, and the anthropometry and genetics of obesity.

The Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology provides a comprehensive survey of modern biochemistry and molecular biology. Fully revised and updated, this new edition includes definitions of terms from the fields of Bioinformatics, Biophysics, Cell Biology, Chemistry, Genetics, Immunology, Mathematics, Microbiology, Pharmacology, Systems Biology, and Toxicology.

Bioanalytical Chemistry provides a thorough introduction for students and practitioners with a broad range of backgrounds from chemistry to medicine. In so doing, it brings together many of the techniques commonly used by biochemists and molecular biologists. The text includes entire chapters on design and implementation of enzyme assays; mass spectrometry; and validation of new methods. Each chapter progresses from basic concepts to applications involving real samples, and ends with a set of problems, while an appendix contains selected answers. The authors have limited mathematical derivations to those that are essential for an understanding of each method and they include a list of suggested reading for further information. This textbook provides an ideal companion for students, researchers, and industrial scientists working in chemistry, biology, biochemistry, pharmacy, and medicine.

Biochemistry: Second Edition" presents 50 clinical cases with open-ended questions which weave basic science concepts into the clinical scenario. Each case includes an extended discussion (including definitions and a pathophysiology discussion), key points, and 3-5 USMLE-style comprehension questions.

This text uses a case-study approach to present the fundamentals of biochemistry and molecular biology in the context of human disease to students who will be involved in patient care. The 32 cases, carefully selected to cover common diseases and important principles, are supplemented by clinical descriptions of each disease and a comprehensive discussion of the underlying pathophysiological mechanisms and associated enzymatic and chemical alterations in tissues and body fluids. The Second Edition differs from its predecessor in several respects. It features seven new chapters on diseases not covered before. The Biochemical Perspectives section of each chapter has been expanded to include pertinent information on the molecular biology of each disease.

The Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology provides a comprehensive survey of modern biochemistry and molecular biology. Fully revised and updated, this new edition includes definitions of terms from the fields of Bioinformatics, Biophysics, Cell Biology, Chemistry, Genetics, Immunology, Mathematics, Microbiology, Pharmacology, Systems Biology, and Toxicology.