LibGuides: Chemistry Resources: Online Resources for Chemistry

Websites

Chemistry Central
Chemistry Central publishes peer-reviewed open access research in chemistry. Chemistry Central is part of the BioMed Central group.
ChemSpider
ChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing fast access to over 67 million structures, properties, and associated information. By integrating and linking compounds from hundreds of high-quality data sources, ChemSpider enables researchers to discover the most comprehensive view of freely available chemical data from a single online search. It is owned by the Royal Society of Chemistry.
more...less...
ChemSpider builds on the collected sources by adding additional properties, related information, and links back to original data sources. ChemSpider offers text and structure searching to find compounds of interest and provides unique services to improve this data by curation and annotation, and to integrate it with users’ applications.
ChemTube3D--Interactive
This site contains interactive 3D animations for some of the most important organic reactions covered during an undergraduate chemistry degree with supporting information on reactivity and spectroscopy.
Learn Chemistry: Chemistry Resources for Teachers
The Royal Society of Chemistry has created this most useful website to help teachers and students of chemistry learn about the field via interactive experiments, diagrams, animations, and so on. The site includes over 3,300 resources.
more...less...
Visitors can get started by using the Resource Type tab. Here they can browse through ten different headings, including Worksheet, Quiz, Tutorial, and Podcast. The Experiments area is quite wonderful, as it includes over 340 different experiments that can be conducted in the classroom. A few highlights in this area include "Challenging Medicines: Making Medicines," "The Salt Cellar Mystery," and "Which solution is which?"
MCAT General Chemistry Review Summary
This MCAT General Chemistry Review Summary Page highlights key points that are most useful for your preparation. What you will need is to understand the vocabulary, definitions, and equations. In some respects, this General Chemistry cheat sheet will minimize your need to memorize information and maximize your review. Free tests and MCAT General Chemistry Summary PDF are available.
NIST Chemistry WebBook
This site provides thermochemical, thermophysical, and ion energetics data compiled by NIST under the Standard Reference Data Program.
Organic Compounds Database
This 2483 compound database has been compiled by Harold M. Bell at Virginia Tech. Fill in the form with as much information as you can. Click on the submit button to execute your search. You will receive at most 20 hits.
Periodic Table of the Elements
Offers quick, easy factual information & images of the elements. By "mousing" over an element, users can view basic information, such as its atomic weight, density, and melting point. The main page of each element displays more descriptive information.
PubChem
Includes 3 linked databases: PubChem Substance, PubChem Compound, and PubChem BioAssay. Also provides a fast chemical structure similarity search tool.
Scirus
This is the most comprehensive scientific research tool on the web. With over 450 million scientific items indexed, it allows researchers to search for not only journal content but also scientists' homepages, courseware, and other scientific data.
Toxnet
ToxNet has changed. You will need to read through the website to make your selection as ToxNet has been redistributed to multiple areas.

Access Online Resources from Off Campus

Moody Library is pleased to offer remote access to the library's many databases. The databases are available to currently-enrolled HCU students, faculty, and staff. An HCU network User ID and password is required for proper authentication.

Periodical Databases in Chemistry

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides access to backfiles of journals in all subjects. Includes a number of science journals, especially backfiles of the journal Science.
The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.

Currency of journals will greatly vary by publisher. Some journals date to the 1800s and are nearly full runs except for the most recent issues. If you need a more recent issue, use the citation in an Interlibrary Journal Request Form. request.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
This service provides indexing and full-text access to the Health and Biological Sciences collection of online journals, which include a number of chemistry related journals.
SciTech Premium This link opens in a new window
The SciTech Premium Collection includes the Natural Science Collection (1946-present) and the Technology Collection (1962-present) and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more. For those researchers who need to conduct comprehensive literature reviews, this database includes specialized, editorial-controlled A&I resources for discovery of relevant scholarly research

STNEasy
Authorized users only.
more...less...
• A search engine for access to key sci/tech database on STN International
• This search may only be used by students in certain science classes
• Ask the Librarian at the Reference Desk to log in to the database
Journal of the American Chemical Society
The premier, state-of-the-art venue for the publication and broad dissemination of first-rate, fundamental research in all of chemistry, both in the core areas and at the interface of chemistry and biology, neurochemistry, materials, and single molecule chemistry.

Multidisciplinary Chemistry Journals

Below are some important general chemistry journals that are available in Moody Library, but the list is not complete. To determine if the library has access to a journal, search by the journal title in the library's A-to-Z Publication Locator.

Accounts of Chemical Research
Concise, critical, and significant articles offering easy-to-read overviews of basic research and applications in all areas of chemistry and biochemistry.
Canadian Journal of Chemistry
Available online from 2001 to the present from Academic Search Complete. There is a 6 month embargo of current content. This journal publishes research articles & reviews by contributors in analytical, inorganic, organic & physical-theoretical chemistry. Articles on electrochemistry, surface chemistry, theoretical chemistry, bio-systhesis, physical organic chemistry, bioinorganic, etc
Chemical & engineering news : news edition of the American Chemical Society
Available online from 1998 to the present.
Chemical Reviews
Review articles providing comprehensive and expert critical analysis in organic, inorganic, physical, analytical, theoretical, and biological chemistry.
Chemistry of Materials
Covers solid-state chemistry, both inorganic and organic, and polymer chemistry, especially as directed to the development of materials with novel and/or useful optical, electrical, magnetic, catalytic, and mechanical properties.
Journal of College Science Teaching
Available online on ProQuest from vol. 27 (1997/98) to the present.
Journal of the American Chemical Society
The premier, state-of-the-art venue for the publication and broad dissemination of first-rate, fundamental research in all of chemistry, both in the core areas and at the interface of chemistry and biology, neurochemistry, materials, and single molecule chemistry.
Polyhedron
Available online from 1995 to the present. Polyhedron will publish original, fundamental, experimental and theoretical work of the highest quality in all the major areas of inorganic chemistry. These include synthetic chemistry, coordination chemistry, organometallic chemistry, bioinorganic chemistry, and solid-state and materials chemistry.
Science
Use this link for the latest issues of Science, from 1997 to the present.
Science (1880-2003)
Use this link for back issues of Science from JSTOR. Science, founded by Thomas A. Edison in 1880 and published by AAAS, today ranks as the world's largest circulation general science journal. Published 51 times a year, Science is renowned for its highly cited, peer-reviewed research papers, its special strength in life science disciplines, and its award-winning coverage of breaking science news.