LibGuides: Physics: Astronomy

Other Recommendations

Cambridge illustrated dictionary of astronomy (2007) by Jacqueline Mitton
This is an E-book and requires an HCU network ID and password for off-campus viewing.

"This illustrated new dictionary, written by an experienced writer and consultant on astronomy, provides an essential guide to the universe for amateur astronomers of all ages. It can be used both as a comprehensive reference work, and as a fascinating compendium of facts to dip into." "Around 1300 carefully selected and cross-referenced entries are complemented by hundreds of beautiful color illustrations, taken from space missions, the Hubble Space Telescope, and other major observatories on Earth and in space. Distinguished stellar illustrator Wil Tirion has drawn 20 new star maps especially for inclusion here. A myriad of named astronomical objects, constellations, observatories, and space missions are described in detail, as well as biographical sketches for 70 of the most luminous individuals in the history of astronomy and space science. Acronyms and specialist terms are clearly explained, making for the most thorough and carefully assembled reference resource that teachers and enthusiasts of astronomy will ever need." (from book jacket)
Collins dictionary of astronomy, 5th ed. (2006) by John Daintith, William Gould
This is an E-book and requires a userID and password for off-campus use.

Directed toward those studying astronomy at school and to the many enthusiastic amateur astronomers. Contains over 3500 entries reflecting the most recent advances in astronomy and related fields.
Deep space astronomy (1999) by Gregory Vogt
This is an E-book and requires and HCU network ID and login for off-campus viewing.

In Deep Space Astronomy, Gregory Vogt takes us on a journey of what has been learned, and the space missions planned to discover more, from the Hubble Space Telescope to research satellites of the future, including the Next Generation Space Telescope, the Gamma-Ray Large Area Space Telescope, and the Roentgen Satellite. A complete discussion of the electromagnetic spectrum is included and you'll be fascinated by the images satellites record at specific wavelengths: gamma rays, X rays, visible light, microwaves, and infrared. Book jacket.
Dictionary of astronomy (1997) by Ian Ridpath
This is an E-book and requires a userID and password for off-campus use.

"The new edition of this dictionary contains over 4,200 up-to-date entries on current space exploration, astrophysics, and cosmology. Written by an expert team of contributors under the editorship of Ian Ridpath, it is an invaluable reference for students, professionals, and anyone with a keen interest in astronomy." (from the book jacket)
Galileo on the world systems; a new abridged translation and guide by Galileo Galilei, Maurice A. Finocchiaro
This is an E-book and requires a userID and password for off-campus use.

Galileo's 1632 book, Dialogue on the Two Chief World Systems, Ptolemaic and Copernican, comes alive for twentieth-century readers thanks to Maurice Finocchiaro's brilliant new translation and presentation. Condemned by the Inquisition for its heretical proposition that the earth revolves around the sun, Galileo's masterpiece takes the form of a debate, divided into four "days," among three highly articulate gentlemen.

Finocchiaro sets the stage with his introduction, which not only provides the human and historical framework for the Dialogue but also admits the reader gracefully into the basic non-Copernican understanding of the universe that would have been shared by Galileo's original audience. The translation of the Dialogue is abridged in order to highlight its essential content, and Finocchiaro gives titles to the various parts of the debate as a guide to the principal topics. By explicating his own critical reading of this text that is itself an exercise in critical reasoning on a gripping real-life controversy, he illuminates those universal, perennial activities of the human mind that make Galileo's book a living document. This is a concrete, hands-on introduction to critical thinking. The translation has been made from the Italian text provided in volume 7 of the Critical National Edition of Galileo's complete works edited by Antonio Favaro. The translator has also consulted the 1632 edition, as well as the other previous English translations, including California's 1967 version.

Galileo on the World Systems is a remarkably nuanced interpretation of a classic work and will give readers the tools to understand and evaluate for themselves one of the most influential scientific books in Western civilization. (from Univ. of California Press - http://www.ucpress.edu/books/pages/6840.php)
Galileo's early notebooks the physical questions : a translation from the Latin, with historical and paleographical commentary (1977) by Galileo Galilei, William A. Wallace
Call Number: QB41.G164 1977
A very readable translation.
New Astronomy by Johannes Kepler, William H. Donahue
An excellent, completely new translation of Astronomia Nova in which Kepler first demonstrated (1609) that the orbits of planets are ellipses and presented the law of areas. His study concentrates on the planet Mars, and the reader can follow Kepler as he wrings, from Tycho's observations, its true orbit around the sun. Unlike a modern research paper, Kepler's work shows the reader all the paths he pursued to this conclusion, including the false starts and hypotheses. His running commentary gives insights into the way that he attacked this problem and some of his "asides" are delightful. But the book is not easy reading and would not be easily accessible to most students. Only the historian of astronomy would understand most of the terms or be able to follow the convoluted arguments by which Kepler reached his all-important conclusion. The regular undergraduate could read selected parts with profit to get an idea of how Kepler worked and presented his conclusions. It is unfortunate that the high cost will prevent many libraries from obtaining this landmark in the history of science literature. Advanced undergraduate; faculty; pre-professional; professional.
Schaum's outline of theory and problems of astronomy (2002) by Stacy E. Palen
This is an E-book and requires userID and password for off-campus access.
Sky & Telescope
This is an E-journal and requires an HCU userID and password for off-campus use.

Coverage: 1984-present. For more astronomical resources, visit their web site at http://www.skyandtelescope.com/.
Source book in astronomy, 1900-1950 by Harlow Shapley
Call Number: QB3.S52
Part of the "Source books in the history of the sciences" series. Harvard Press, 1960.
Star struck: one thousand years of the art and science of astronomy (2001) by Ronald Brashear, Daniel Lewis, Owen Gingerich
Call Number: QB15.B67 2001
These 150-plus illustrations would be perfectly fascinating on their own, but the accompanying text is also excellent. Authors Brashear, rare books curator at the Smithsonian's Dibner Library of the History of Science and Technology, and Lewis, curator of American historical manuscripts at the Huntington Library, are joined by Owen Gingerich, senior astronomer at the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory and professor of Astronomy and of the History of Science at Harvard University. Together they document the evolution of humanity's understanding of the cosmos, drawing on some of the most rare and beautiful books in the history of astronomy. Sources of the illustrations include the J. Paul Getty Museum, the Huntington Library, and the Hubble Space Telescope. c. Book News Inc.
Uncentering the Earth Copernicus and The revolutions of the heavenly spheres (2006) by William T. Vollmann
Call Number: QB41.C763 V66 2006
By placing the sun at the center of the universe, Copernicus upended the cosmology of his day. He touched off a new, scientific trajectory of thought that would lead to a completely new understanding of the universe and humanity's place within it. With energetic prose and powerful intelligence, William T. Vollmann provides a fresh and enlightening explication not only of Copernicus and his famous book but also of his epoch and the momentous clash between the two. (from book jacket)
Astronomy encyclopedia
Call Number: Credo QB14 .P48 2002

Web Site Recommendations

Comet Shoemaker-Levy Collision with Jupiter
Constellations and Their Stars
Jet Propulsion Laboratory
JPL develops everything from deep space and Earth-based satellites along with their accompanying scientific experiments (along with communication systems for transmitting information back to Earth) to robotics. Their best known projects include: Pathfinder (Mars), Saturn (Cassini), Voyager, and their first project, Explorer (1958).
more...less...
Trailblazing has been the business of JPL since it was established by the California Institute of Technology in the 1930s. America's first satellite, Explorer 1 which launched in 1958, was created at JPL. In the decades that followed, JPL sent the first robotic craft to the moon and out across the solar system, reconnoitering all of the planets. Pushing the outer edge of exploration, in fact, is the reason JPL exists as a NASA laboratory.

JPL launched Kepler, a spaceborne telescope that will seek out Earth-like planets as they pass in front of other stars. JPL contributed key technology to two European Space Agency spacecraft, Herschel and Planck. The Wide-field Infrared Survey Explorer is scheduled for launching in 2009. They join the currently operational Spitzer Space Telescope and Galaxy Evolution Explorer astronomical missions.

Among robotic spacecraft arrayed across the solar system, Dawn is using ion propulsion to take it into orbit around two bodies for the first time ever -- the large asteroid Vesta and the dwarf planet Ceres. Mars Reconnaissance Orbiter is returning exceptionally detailed photos of the Red Planet's surface, while the rovers Spirit and Opportunity keep going far beyond the mission they were originally designed for. In 2008, the Phoenix lander successfully found water ice on Mars' arctic plains. The flagship explorer Cassini continues its orbits of Saturn, scrutinizing the ringed planet and its moons, including the haze-shrouded Titan in an extended mission. The Voyagers are exploring the edge of our solar system.

Closer to home, a contingent of Earth-orbiting satellites monitors the lands, oceans and atmosphere of our own planet, returning important information on topics ranging from atmospheric ozone to El Nino events. These include the Jason 2 satellite launched last year on a joint U.S./French mission to monitor Earth's oceans.

In total, JPL has 20 spacecraft and nine instruments conducting active missions. All of these are part of NASA's program of exploration of Earth and space with plans to send robots and humans to explore the moon, Mars and beyond. These ventures would not be possible without NASA's Deep Space Network managed by JPL. This international network of antenna complexes on several continents serves as the communication gateway between distant spacecraft and the Earth-based teams that guide them. While carrying out these exploration missions, JPL also conducts a number of space technology demonstrations in support of national security and develops technologies for uses on Earth in fields from public safety to medicine, capitalizing on NASA's investment in space technology.
Lunar and Planetary Institute
The Lunar and Planetary Institute, a division of the Universities Space Research Association, was established during the Apollo missions to foster international collaboration and to serve as a repository for information gathered during the early years of the space program. Today, the LPI is an intellectual leader in lunar and planetary science.
more...less...
The Institute serves as a scientific forum attracting world-class visiting scientists, postdoctoral fellows, students, and resident experts;

* supports and serves the research community through newsletters, meetings, and other activities;
* collects and disseminates planetary data while facilitating the community's access to NASA science; and
* engages, excites, and educates the public about space science and invests in the development of future generations of explorers.

The research carried out at the LPI supports the National Aeronautics and Space Administration's (NASA) efforts to explore the solar system.
Mission to Saturn: Cassini
Missions to Mars
Missions to the Moon: Apollo
NASA
What can we say? This is the main NASA web site. Links to everything space-related can be found here.
NASA - Human Spaceflight
Includes the latest information about the Space Shuttle, the International Space Station, space news, and behind-the-scene information. Also, links to real-time tracking and NASA history are included.
NASA History: Topical Index
Nine Planets Tour
Observatorium
NASA's Observatorium is a public access site for Earth and space data. They have pictures of the Earth, planets, stars, and other cool stuff, as well as the stories behind those images. In addition, teacher materials are included.
Space Telescope Science Institute
STScI is home of science program selection, grant administration, planning, scheduling, and public outreach activities for the Hubble Space Telescope (HST). STScI provides data archive and distribution for all of NASA's optical/UV missions, including HST. STScI is also the science and operations center for the 6.5m James Webb Space Telescope (JWST). Details on these and other related topics can be found throughout the site.
more...less...
The Space Telescope Science Institute is operated for NASA by the Association of Universities for Research (AURA) in Astronomy, Inc., Washington, D.C.
StarDate.org
From the Univ. of Texas-McDonald Observatory. Includes star-gazing and other astronomical resources.
Stars
Portraits of Stars and their constellations along information about specific stars. Many other astronomy-related links included (more than just stars only). Created by Jim Kaler, Prof. Emeritus of Astronomy, University of Illinois.
Stephen Hawking's Universe (PBS)
This site is based on the TV episode from PBS. It does offer overviews to many cosmological questions.
Understanding the Cosmos
Humans have been closely observing the sky for millennia. This exhibit from the Library of Congress, entitled "Understanding the Cosmos: Changing Models of the Solar System and the Universe" includes primary sources from the ancient Greeks to the Medieval Arabic astronomers, and beyond. All files are available by HTML and for free PDF download. Begin with the astonishing 15th century Arabic manuscript by Abd Al Raḥman Ibn Umar. Look at original drawings of solar and lunar eclipses by Galileo and Copernicus. Educators will find the Teacher’s Guide, a short compendium to the exhibit, especially useful. (Internet Scout Report)
What happened to the moon rocks?
This is a virtual tour of NASA's Building 31. The building is heavily shielded to protect against Cat 5 hurricanes and flooding to protect these national treasures and preserve them for scientific research.
Google Earth

See the Glory

These are podcasts by an attorney who has become an amateur astronomer. Richard Hammer is an attorney and CPA living in Springfield, MO. He graduated from Harvard Law School, and attended Harvard Divinity School. His specialization is legal and tax issues for religious organizations, and I have written over 50 books and publish 2 newsletters in this field. He became hooked on astronomy after taking a single look at Saturn through his brother's 4 inch reflector when he was in high school. His first telescope was a Celestron 8" SCT. Over the years he purchased several other telescopes, and built a 6" reflector (including polishing the mirror).