Nursing: Reference Books

Presents data on health care consumers and provides a comprehensive look at the demand for health care. Examines the demographics of health care consumers and the services they use. Includes detailed health care spending data and the latest data on health care coverage.

Provides an extensive collection of health care data, including births and reproductive health, deaths, disease, insurance and finance, health care providers, facilities, and physical fitness.

Published by the Department of Health and Human Services, this publication presents national trends in health statistics. Each report includes an executive summary, a chartbook, trend tables, extensive appendixes, and an index.

This guide has been prepared to provide the reader general background and insight into the Nursing Practice Act, rules, regulations, and position statements of the Board of Nurse Examiners, and other state laws and regulations governing the practice of professional nursing.

The #1 IV drug handbook for 36 years, this reference is trusted for its accuracy and comprehensive coverage. It provides essential data on administering more than 350 intravenous drugs, with a portable size for convenience in any clinical setting.

Annual publication. The book has complete monographs on 800 common drugs and summaries of key information on hundreds of less common drugs and combination drugs in the appendices. The book has a 32-page full-color photoguide to tablets and capsules. LNDG contains 25 appendices, appropriate for practicing and student nurses, which are organized in an efficient, clinical-reference format. This book is also suitable for adoption for student use.

Dubbed the Bible of Medicine, the Merck manual is a book condensed enough to cover all the major aspects of of medicine in a text written that even though is targeted towards health care practitioners, can also be used by that layman. Written first at the end of the 19th century, the manual covers nearly most of everything in the medical field. From why epilepsy occurs to that dreadful itchy rash, the topics are concise, up to the point and easy to understand.

2004 Oncology Nursing Drug Handbook is a comprehensive nursing resource for assessment, intervention, and patient education in the administration of oncology drugs. This essential reference provides valuable information on symptom management and chemotherapy administration for the oncology nurse. For 2004 it has been updated with the latest chemotherapy and symptom management drugs.

PDR® has been the authoritative source of FDA-approved information on prescription drugs for more than 62 years. No medical reference is more comprehensive, more current, more user-friendly, or more recognized and respected. The 2009 PDR®includes more than 3,000 drugs organized by brand and generic name, manufacturer and product category. It also provides usage information and warnings, drug interactions, plus more than 1,800 full-size, full-color photos, cross referenced to the drug.

The award-winning "Encyclopedia of Nursing Research," now in its third edition, is the comprehensive resource for tracking developments in the field. With over 20 new areas of research, and meticulous updates of original entries, the encyclopedia presents key terms and concepts and their application to practice. Pithy entries provide the most relevant and current research perspectives, and will be a starting point for future content and references. Nurse researchers, educators, students, and all clinical specialties will find the encyclopedia an important introduction to the breadth of nursing research today.

Aimed at the nonspecialist reader interested in health and medicinal issues, this 4-vol. set is appropriate for upper class high school and university students, professionals and public library patrons. The "Encyclopedia" examines topics as broad in range as environmental health, drug abuse, epidemiology, nutrition, demographics and diseases. Includes overviews, definitions and biographical entries.

This resource, updated from the first edition is designed to supplement rather than replace medical or health consultations. It offers a one-stop source for medical information concerning nearly 1,700 common medical disorders, conditions, tests, and treatments. By avoiding medical jargon and using language general readers will understand, Gale has provided a highly useful reference source. Besides standard topics (e.g., AIDS, Alzheimer's disease, cancer, high blood pressure), the editors provide a number of essays about the growing field of alternative therapies, ranging from meditation and homeopathy to traditional Chinese medicine. Entries are arranged alphabetically and feature cross-references printed in boldface. Lists of key terms with definitions are generously interspersed throughout the volumes. The contact information for organizations and support groups included with each entry will help health consumers, while the resources section directs users to additional information. The 675 color images include photographs, charts, tables, and line drawings.

This set provides more than 1,000 entries covering topics in nursing and allied health written for students and professionals in the field. Alphabetically arranged entries cover topics in body systems and functions, conditions and common diseases, contemporary health care issues and theories, techniques and practices, and devices and equipment. Covers all major health professions, including nursing, physical therapy, occupational therapy, and respiratory therapy.

Here is the story of nursing from Roman times to the present, focusing on significant events, eras of conflict and social change, treatment innovations, landmark institutions, champions of women's health, and the evolution of mil. nursing. Covers important individuals, key nursing concepts, famous breakthroughs, historical eras, med., abortion pros and cons, ethnic cures, hospices, midwifery, native healers, hospital ships, Cadet Nurse Corps, pub's., and more. Includes a timeline of landmarks in nursing history and a detailed bibliography. Numerous biographies of healthcare pioneers and activists.

A single comprehensive reference for nursing leaders, leadership organizations, nursing clinicians, and educators, Nursing Leadership is the only compendium of nursing terminology in existence. Written by eminent nursing professionals, it provides descriptions of prominent individuals in nursing, information regarding nine leadership-related topics, and current trends in nurse leadership. This second edition has been expanded to encompass 80 new entries and revisions or updates to all original entries. It provides an extensive overview of current leadership issues including theories, character.

A comprehensive manual that helps health care professionals recognize and interpret their patients' signs and symptoms. Each entry describes the sign or symptom, provides emergency interventions (if needed), assesses the complaint, reviews its causes, associated signs and symptoms, special considerations (tests, monitoring, and ongoing care), and concludes with pediatric pointers, geriatric pointers, and patient counseling where appropriate.

Provides more depth and covers a greater variety of topics than pocket dictionaries. An associated website makes the book more portable and provides access to a massive amount of material. Entries have been carefully edited and illustrations, including photographs, selected to give a true nursing focus.

This reference work provides updated definitions in epidemiology and many related fields such as biostatistics, infectious disease control, health promotion, genetics, clinical epidemiology and health economics.

This updated and revised dictionary presents up-to-the-minute definitions and discussions of terms commonly encountered in nursing literature. Included in this fourth edition are complete updates of all entries with new references, information for developing fields of research (e.g., mixed methods), and entries that reflect evolving patterns and issues in the field

A comprehensive medical dictionary with over 51,000 definitions, over 2,000 illustrations, hundreds of lab test and surgical procedure definitions, and comprehensive definitions for drugs.

Includes more than 60,000 reader-friendly definitions, including 3,000 brand-new terms and 7,000 revised terms, and more than 1000 full-color illustrations.