Nursing: Websites and Other Online Resources

Formerly called Texas Board of Nurse Examiners

Includes information on current health concerns, links to various department services and regulations, and general information about Houston health.

The site was developed to allow users to gain a better picture of community health, including resources and needs by specific location. The database includes more than 5,100 health and human service programs throughout a 13 county area in the Texas Gulf Coast.

The Nursing Theory Page is a collaborative effort by an international group. We are interested in developing a collection of resources about nursing theories throughout the world. The project began on 21 May 96 and will always be a work in progress. The Nursing Theory Page simply links pages built and maintained by others who have knowledge about a theory.

This is a Census Bureau website that provides population, housing, economic, and geographic information.

Provides information on prevention and treatment of infectious diseases - access to the Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report and Emerging Infectious Diseases

This is a real estate website, but in includes demographic information by zipcode, probably gleaned from the U.S. Census, by zipcode.

Presents nationwide county-by-county health data in an easy-to-navigate format.

As a part of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, the National Center for Health Statistics is the nation's principle health statistics agency.

Produced by the Kaiser Foundation. Includes statistics state-by-state on a number of health topics and a comparison of statistics state to state.

The United Nations public health arm. Monitors disease outbreaks, assesses the performance of health systems around the globe.

A portal to the Web sites of a number of multi-agency health initiatives and activities of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) and other Federal departments and agencies. Includes national statistics for 70 core indicators on mortality, morbidity, risk factors, service coverage, and health systems .

This searchable database is one of the largest and most comprehensive global listings of industry- and government-sponsored clinical trials on the Internet. Sponsors use this service to inform patients and their caregivers about ongoing clinical trial opportunities, which volunteers can then review and inquire about participating in.

A comprehensive, easy to use, up-to-date website on the government's new health care system.

An Interactive anatomy program that provides access to high-quality medical images.

arranged by system, users can view animation of the systems, tutorials, and descriptions. Must have a java-enabled browser; Produced by Intellimed.

More than 3,300 physicians, scientists and researchers from Mayo Clinic share their expertise to empower you to manage your health.

The National Institutes of Health (NIH) is the primary Federal agency for conducting and supporting medical research. Click on the "Institutes" tab to find links to all of the comprise the NIH.

Provided by the University of Pennsylvania Cancer Center, OncoLink provides comprehensive information about specific types of cancer, updates on cancer treatments and news about research advances