Measurement tools in patient education / by Barbara Klug Redman.
Call Number: Ref. R727.4.M4 2003 (Test Center)
ISBN: 0826198597
This book provides a compendium of patient teaching tools for use in all areas of health care practice. They can be used for: Assessment of patient's educational needs Evaluation of effectiveness of patient teaching Tracking effectiveness of patient care Improving quality of care by using outcomes to improve interventions
Medical Library Association guide to health literacy / by edited by Marge Kars, Lynda M. Baker, and Feleta L. Wilson.
Call Number: Z675.M4 M497 2008
ISBN: 1555706258
The Medical Library Association Guide to Health Literacy is an academic volume on the latest developments in health literacy and its relevance to librarians. Twenty authors—professionals and academics in librarianship, education, and health care—contributed to the volume, covering the basics of health literacy, its effect on special populations, the role for public and hospital libraries, and health-literacy programs. The volume is densely packed with thorough literature reviews but also many practical suggestions for the consumer-health librarian.
Mosby's handbook of patient teaching / by Mary M. Cannobio.
Call Number: RT90.C36 2006
ISBN: 0323032087
This handy guide gives you instant access to a wealth of essential patient teaching information for patients with common diseases and disorders, as well as those who are undergoing diagnostic testing or a medical or surgical procedure.
Nurse's handbook of patient education / by Shirin Fali Pestonjee.
Call Number: RT90.P47 2000
ISBN: 1582550182
Readers find "how to" guidance on all aspects of patient teaching, from assessing learning needs and writing meaningful objectives to implementing effective teaching plans. Contents include scores of disorders organized by body system and feature causes, potential complications, pertinent medications, activity restrictions, nutrition reminders, treatments, risk factors, and care after discharge.
Patient education in health and illness / by Sally H. Rankin [et al}
Call Number: RT90.R35 2005
ISBN: 0781748496
This thoroughly up-to-date text/reference teaches you not only how to communicate successfully with clients, but also how to promote a healthy lifestyle. The authors' health promotion approach to patient education is theory-based, supported throughout the text by current case studies and relevant practice examples from several health professions. These strong clinical examples provide you with the evidence-based strategies and knowledge you need to develop effective education programs for patients all ages and their families, in a variety of health care settings.
Practice of patient education : a case study approach / by Barbara Klug Redman.
Call Number: RT90.R43 2007
ISBN: 0323039057
With patients leaving the hospital sicker and more care being done in outpatient settings or at home, patients need to become active, informed participants on their health care team. This text provides unique advice to help nurses apply their knowledge and skills to teaching patients in the clinical setting with specific diseases, including special populations.
Teaching patients with low literacy skills /
Call Number: R727.4.D63 1996
ISBN: 0397551614
This practical text guides the reader in developing the necessary tools for teaching those patients with limited literacy skills. Nurses will learn proven strategies for evaluating comprehension and teaching patients using written materials, tapes, video, computer aided instruction, visuals, and graphics. An abundance of case studies helps to demonstrate the application of teaching/learning theory to actual practice. Readers will also explore literacy issues in health care as well as the cultural impact on comprehension.
The center is a nonprofit organization dedicated to helping consumers make informed choices and advocating for patients' rights to the best medical information possible.
This site offers consumers reliable health and wellness information in video format. The health videos are arranged by Health Categories and by Health Topics. Physicians review the information added to the site.
Primarily a consumer health website, but also used by medical professionals. Preformulated MEDLINE searches are included in MedlinePlus and give easy access to medical journal articles. MedlinePlus also has extensive information about drugs, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, interactive patient tutorials, and latest health news.
The Web Pages of 31 regional sites connect topics and local health services/providers in various geographic locations; the users generally drill down from the state or region into the individual counties, cities, or towns.
Designed for nursing professionals and students, this online database is important because if provides patient information handouts. From the Micromedex web page, select "CareNotes System." Use the search box to search for topics, or use the tabs at the top to browse the available handouts.
MODULES
1. Clinical Knowledge: Medication, Disease and Toxicology Management
- Evidence based clinical resources to support informed diagnosis and treatment decisions.
- Unbiased, referenced Clinical Decision Support (CDS) for medication, toxicology, disease, and alternative medicine.
- Safely and reliably manage drug therapy for pediatric and neonatal patients with NeoFax and Pediatrics evidence-based drug information.
- RED BOOK for drug pricing, drug data, and manufacturer information.
Find information about additional Micromedex at https://www.ibm.com/watson/health/provider-client-training/micromedex/
2. Formulary: Facility wide Formulary Management
- Easy-to-use online tool to effectively manage and update hospital formulary and communicate the most current information facility-wide.
3. Patient Connect: CareNotes
- Provides patients with complete, easy-to-understand patient education handouts.
- Patient education for conditions and diagnoses, labs, and procedures, written for every stage of care.
- Medication Instructions deliver a single source of evidence-based patient education.
- Documents are written at a 5th-7th grade reading level, and are available in up to 15 languages.
4. Medication Essential Fact Sheets
- Short and to-the-point drug information that supports better patient understanding and adherence.
- Helps improve medication-related Hospital Consumer Assessment of Healthcare Providers and Systems (HCAHPS) scores.
For more information about CareNotes Patient Education and Medication Essential Fact Sheets, visit https://www.ibm.com/watson/health/provider-client-training/micromedex-carenotes/
5. Pharmaceutical Knowledge: A Role-Based Solution for Pharmaceutical Professionals
- A tailored interface providing trusted evidence and global guidance with a Pharmaceutical perspective.
- Enhanced for advanced searching, ability to compare drug results, and aggregation with other information resources.
MOBLE APPS
There is an app for MicroMedex for our nursing students! According to iTunes and Google Play, MicroMedex has several apps:
•Micromedex Drug Int.
•Micromedex Drug Ref
•Micromedex IV Comp
*Micromedex Pediatrics
* NOTE: We do not have NeoFax.
When I click into MicroMedex website via desktop for our campus, it appears that we have access to those on the web version, so we should access via the app as well. Librarians are not nurses and don't use the app but wanted clarification on how our nursing students can login to these apps. On campus, they would have to validate through our proxy server. I would doubt the app has that capability, so we wanted to find out how they can successfully login as our student.
Solution:
You can find the passwords for Micromedex by logging into our subscription. On the top corner of the Micromedex homepage, in the upper right corner, look for the Mobile Application Access link. Click it will take you to IBM mobile Micromedex page. Now, please click on Micromedex Native Mobile Apps which will take you to the mobile passwords page. The passwords must be entered exactly as they appear onscreen. Please keep this email for future reference to find the passwords, as needed. We recommend doing this over a laptop or desktop. Passwords are only good for one year. You lose access sometime, so check the password.
Texas Cancer Information connects patients, caregivers, the general public, health care policy planners, physicians and other health professionals with reliable online cancer information. Funded by the Cancer Prevention and Research Institute of Texas and the M.D. Anderson Cancer Center.
Measurement tools in patient education / by 
Medical Library Association guide to health literacy / by 
Mosby's handbook of patient teaching / by 
Nurse's handbook of patient education / by 
Patient education in health and illness / by 
Practice of patient education : a case study approach / by 
Teaching patients with low literacy skills /