Nursing: Instructional DVDs and Other Non-Book Resources

This program focuses on the second provision in the nursing code of ethics pertaining to commitment. Through scenarios and expert interviews, it addresses the primacy of patient interests and the nurse's role as a moral agent and advocate for patient. Program also explores conflict of interest issues for nurses and proper actions that can be taken when the wishes of the patient conflict with others. Video explores the importance of collaboration in the workplace and the ethical issue of proper professional boundaries for nurses.

In this CBS News special, Martin Marty of the Park Ridge Center, members of Lutheran General and Good Samaritan Hospitals' ethics advisory teams, hospice providers, and others address the sanctity of life in a medical context.

Focuses on the role of nurses on the provision of spiritual care.

This video describes the needs and concerns of persons experiencing chronic health problems. "It also explores the nurse's role in providing spiritual care to persons.

This video examines aspects of life threatening illness that may have implications for spiritual care.

Explores what spirituality is, its relationship to religion, creative expression, nature, and life, so that professionals might better understand and address the spiritual needs of clients in clinical practice.

Dr. Wright offers ideas of spiritual care practices and conversations that soften suffering and invite healing. She demonstrates these skills with a family experiencing serious illness. Learn a new model, namely the Trinity Model, for understanding the connection between beliefs, suffering, and spirituality. Distinctions are also given between spirituality and religion.

Overviews current perspectives on ethnic/cultural assessment to increase awareness and understanding of cultural behaviors and to effectively integrate ethnic considerations into the nursing process.

Culturally competent care adapts care interventions to the cultural needs and preferences (ethnic and religious beliefs, values, and practices) of diverse clients. This program provides practical and effective methods of recognizing and dealing with the special needs of different cultures.

Features nurses meeting the challenges of providing care to a culturally-diverse patient population. Introduces basic concepts of trancultural nursing and how this new nursing practice will be used.

Describes the steps in planning, carrying out, and evaluating a mass casualty exercise.

Twenty interactive case studies designed to highlight decision-making and clinical practice in the community and home setting.

Features more than 40 interactive exercises that allow users to collect data, analyze a real community, and learn the latest on communicable and reportable diseases. Contains crossword puzzles, video clips, photos, and case studies.

Demonstrates the math skills used by health care personnel. Topics covered include: calculating fluid intake, using a thermometer, taking blood pressure, determining dosages; graphs and charts.

Demonstrates key aspects of procedures performed during a code and explains why these procedures can make the difference between life and death.

Care of Infants and Children presents the most commonly performed pediatric procedures in a compelling, easy-to-use visual format that helps you maximize your understanding. This DVD set features video clips that walk you through essential skills such as taking vital signs and measurement of an infant, positioning and restraining, and administering injections, plus detailed 3-D animations that show you key principles of pediatric anatomy and physiology.

An attorney discusses the purposes and requirements for medical records and covers two areas of potential liability: charting medical records and altering medical records. Provides examples of courtroom situations which illustrate how seemingly minor human errors may prove fatal to a healthcare professional's defense in a medical malpractice case.

This program shows techniques for communicating with patients suffering from mental disorders or experiencing emotional problems. Nurses learn how the formation of a trusting relationship can improve communication.

Observe the four stages of a family nursing interview from engagement through termination. Wright and Leahey define and demonstrate key perceptual, conceptual, and executive skills; show how to apply these skills in family nursing clinical practice; offer sample questions for nurses to explore family concerns/solutions; and show key interventions to help families change.

From the moment of conception, every human embryo embarks on an incredible nine-month journey of development. Now, cutting-edge technology makes it possible for National Geographic Channel's "In the womb" to open a window into the hidden world of the fetus and explore each trimester in amazing new detail. Revolutionary 3-D and 4-D imagery sheds light on the delicate, dark world of a fetus as never before and follows a rare fetoscope operation, performed in utero with the hope of correcting life-threatening complications before birth.

Consists of three documentary-style videos demonstrating nursing care of children and families. Each video covers five age groups -- infant, toddler, pre-school, school age and adolescent. Nurse, patient and family interviews are included.

Addresses general considerations for administering pediatric medications and presents important guidelines to help prevent medication errors.

Presents the nursing process as a system for planning nursing care. Using a realistic patient care scenario, the five steps of the nursing process are identified and described as a student nurse and her professional colleagues work to improve a patient's care. Those steps are: assessment, analysis, planning, intervention, and evaluation. Also includes techniques of therapeutic communication with the patient, family member, and nursing staff.

This DVD explores patient communication. It shows how to establish therapeutic relationships and interview and assess patients. The program examines communication issues associated with specific patient groups, covers cultural and religious issues, and introduces the phases of the nurse-patient relationship

Scrubbing, Gowning, and Gloving provides a comprehensive description of the techniques healthcare providers should use when working with patients undergoing sterile procedures. While hand preparation and donning gowns and gloves are demonstrated for surgical procedures, these same practices apply to other environments such as cath labs, treatment or procedure rooms, or even patient rooms. Describes surgical scrub as well as the use of antiseptic hand gels.

Amazing 3D animation and non-technical narration make the stages of labor easy to understand. Combining detailed animation of the labor process, live birth footage, and parents describing their experience of labor and delivery, this program is an anatomy lesson and a birth story, all in one.

From reinforcing fundamental nursing skills to troubleshooting clinical problems on the fly, this 17-module video series follows a team of nursing students and their instructor as they perform a range of essential nursing procedures. Contents: module 1. Vital signs -- module 2. Asepsis -- module 3. Oral and topical medications -- module 4. Injectable medications -- module 5. IV medications -- module 6. Perioperative nursing -- module 7. Hygiene -- module 8. Skin integrity and wound care -- module 9. Activity -- module 10. Nutrition -- module 11. Urinary elimination -- module 12. Indwelling and intermittent catheters -- module 13. Bowel elimination -- module 14. Oxygenation -- module 15. Tracheostomy care -- module 16. IV therapy -- module 17. Central venous access devices.

Demonstrates how to put community health nursing concepts into practice.

Demonstrates in real-time routine care of tracheostomy patients and advanced actions including management of emergencies. Also addresses preventive care and the special needs of patients.