Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

About the Library

Special Collections

Collections 

  • Audio-Visual Collection -- CDs and DVDs are located at the Circulation Desk. VHS tapes and audio cassettes are located on the second floor. Non-reserve VHS tapes and DVDs check out for one week. CDs are for building use only. 
  • Curriculum Collection -- This collection contains state-adopted K-12 textbooks and is located on the 2nd floor.
  • Microform Collection -- Located on the 2nd floor, this collection includes Microfilm and Microfiche periodicals.  A reader for these publications is located next to the Microform cabinets.
  • Popular Reading -- This collection includes popular fiction, current best sellers, Christian fiction, and other books that might be read for pleasure.  The collection is on the second floor.
  • Periodicals Collection -- While most of the library's periodical collection is located online there are some titles that are also in paper format. These are located in two different areas.  Current Periodicals (usually the latest year) are located on the 2nd floor at the top of the front stairs.  Bound Periodicals (back issues) are also located on the 2nd floor.  Both collections are arranged alphabetically by title.
  • Reference Collection -- Located on the 2nd floor, near the elevator, this is a collection of non-circulating items that are designed to give quick information.  They include dictionaries, encyclopedias, directories, etc.  Many other reference books are online.
  • Special Collections -- Moody Library has four special collections that are located in the 2nd-floor group study rooms, Bradley, Hicks, Linder, and Special. All of the items in these collections are for Building Use Only.  See the Reference Librarian for access to these items.
  • Youth Collection -- This collection contains a sample of quality books for users from Pre-K through grade 12. The collection is on the 2nd floor.

 

How the Collections Are Organized

The library's collection is organized by the Library of Congress Classification System. This system uses an alpha-numeric scheme to group books according to subject area. For more information about call number ranges and how to narrow down them down to your topic, visit the Library of Congress Classification Outline page. The alphabetical entries and corresponding subject areas are:

A              General Works
B Philosophy, Psychology, and Religion
C Auxiliary Sciences of History
D General and Old World History
E History of America
F History of the United States and British, Dutch, French, and Latin America
G Geography, Anthropology, and Recreation
H Social Sciences
J Political Science
K Law
L Education
M Music
N Fine Arts
P Language and Literature
Q Science
R Medicine
S Agriculture
T Technology
U Military Science
V Naval Science
Z Bibliography, Library Science, and General Information Resources