About this product The Bloom’s Literary Criticism eBook Collection represents a comprehensive library covering a broad selection of literary works, their authors and genres. Each title in the collection was edited by Harold Bloom, a leading American literary critic and Sterling Professor of Humanities at Yale University.
The Bloom’s Literary Criticism eBook Collection includes titles/volumes from the following Bloom’s series: Major Dramatists, Modern Critical Views, Literary Themes, "How To Write About", Major Novelists, Major Poets, Major Short Story Writers, Modern Critical Interpretations, Period Studies, Shakespeare Through the Ages, Major Literary Characters, Bloom’s Guides, Classic Critical Views, Bio Critiques, and more.
Looking for a resource to help your personal reading? This is more of a personal resource than an academic one for your classes. Finding a book that interests you can be time-consuming. Match your reading interests with Gale Books and Authors, a reader’s advisory database that makes finding a great read much less challenging. With fun ways to browse, an intuitive design, read-alikes, reviews, award winners and themed book lists, and more this resource answers the age-old question, “What do I read next?”
Gale OneFile: Communications and Mass Media brings together information found in more than 400 journals. Nearly 3 million articles on all aspects of the communications field, including advertising, public relations, linguistics, and literature, meet the needs of researchers. Exclusive features, including Topic Finder, InterLink, and a mobile-optimized interface, support and enhance the search experience.
Gale's Opposing Viewpoints In Context cover today's hottest social issues. From the landing page, you can browse some of the latest hot topic issues. By clicking on a topic, you can get a wider range of resources all in one place for your convenience. It is a rich resource for communication courses and debaters, and includes pro/con viewpoints, reference articles, interactive maps, infographics, and more. Some of their sources include The New York Times, Newsweek, Foreign Policy, American Scientist, and Education Week, and more.
This cross-curricular research database supports economics, environment, politics, science, social studies, current events, language arts classes and much more. Informed, differing views help learners develop critical-thinking skills and draw their own conclusions.
Provides access to biographies, bibliographic, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline. Covers more than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journlists, and other writers and includes access to the Dictionary of Literary Biography (DLB), Contemporary Authors (CA), and Contemporary Literary Criticism (CLC).
Gale Literature: LitFinder provides access to a wealth of literary works and secondary-source materials covering world literature and authors throughout history. Including more than 132,000 full-text poems and 670,000+ poetry citations, as well as short stories, speeches, and plays. Researchers can easily target the information they are looking for through various refine search and results limiter options. Biographies, work summaries, photographs, and a glossary are also included.
Researchers can find everything from the sonnets of Shakespeare to the poetry of Maya Angelou, the love poetry of the 13th century to contemporary poems by African American women, the inaugural speeches of George Washington through George W. Bush, short stories by Edgar Allan Poe to stories by up-and-coming writer Elizabeth Weld, or essays on such subjects as the arts, science, and religion. Quickly retrieve a particular writer or identifies authors linked by such qualities as gender, nationality, century, and genre using person search. A works search provides similar limiters and the ability to browse works by thousands of subjects, themes, genres, and movements. Basic and advanced search modes allow users to search by keyword, author, subject, work title, work date, nationality, gender, century, and more.
This database title looks similar to the others in this section; however, Gale Literature is a cross-searchable environment that brings together all the Gale Literature databases here in one place. Click the "More" button below to see what is cross-checked.
Currently, users can cross-search these collections:
Gale Literature Criticism, one of the largest, most extensive compilations of literary commentary available
Gale Literature Resource Center, offering up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism, and reviews on more than 130,000 published novelists in all disciplines, from all time periods, and from around the world.
Gale Literature: LitFinder, containing a wealth of literary works, including over 150,000 full-text poems and more than 800,000 poetry citations as well as short stories, speeches, and plays
Subcollections of Gale eBooks titles, optimized for search, discovery, and integration across your school, university, or library’s educational programs, Gale eBooks connect users to the most authoritative resources available—with a shorter pathway to get to them
Gale Literature: Dictionary of Literary Biography, signed scholarly essays that provide essential context to understand the careers and writings of more than 12,000 published novelists from all time periods and all parts of the world.
Gale Literature: Something About the Author, engaging author biographies of classic, contemporary, and emerging novelists and illustrators of children’s and young adult works.
Gale Literature: Contemporary Authors, current biographical and bibliographical data on more than 120,000 modern writers.
Gale Literary Index is a master index to the major literature products published by Gale. It combines and cross-references author names, including pseudonyms and variant names, and listings for titles of works into one source.
Gale Literary Index provides quick and easy access to author and title listings from over 130 literature products (some multi-volume works including Contemporary Authors, and more, from Gale and the imprints Charles Scribner's Sons, St. James Press, and Twayne Publishers. The referenced products themselves will contain complete biographies on authors and critical essays on their writings.
JSTOR offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive (i.e., not current). It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.
Currency of journals will greatly vary by publisher. Some journals date to the 1800s and are nearly full runs except for the most recent issues. If you need a more recent issue, use the citation in an Interlibrary Journal Request Form. request.
Subjects covered primarily include history, philosophy, and religion. You are invited to enjoy its Greek and Latin texts alongside English translations, in familiar ways and in surprisingly new ones. This is the complete collection. Moody Library has about two-thirds of the physical collection.
The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world. Click the More Info button that includes links to two helpful videos to enhance your use.
As a historical dictionary, the OED is very different from dictionaries of current English, in which the focus is on present-day meanings. You’ll still find present-day meanings in the OED, but you’ll also find the history of individual words, and of the language—traced through 3 million quotations, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books.
The OED started life more than 150 years ago. Today, the dictionary is in the process of its first major revision. Updates revise and extend the OED at regular intervals, each time subtly adjusting our image of the English language.
OED Labs – Our goal is to further develop the OED’s offering to actively support the needs of academic research as they evolve in the coming years. Take a look at new ways to access OED data, including the OED Researcher API and the OED Text Visualizer.
Video guides: Take a look at our short guides to help you get the most out of your OED access.
Twentieth-Century American Poetry is an unprecedented collection of poetry which allows readers a unique survey of the movements, schools and distinctive voices of modern and contemporary American poetry. With the collaboration of America's leading poetry publishers, the collection brings together 50,000 poems by over 300 poets. The major works of the modernist period – the brittle imagist lyrics of Ezra Pound, H.D. (Hilda Doolittle) and William Carlos Williams, the playful and abstract masterpieces of Wallace Stevens and e.e. cummings, the symbolist cityscapes of Hart Crane – can be read alongside contemporary works such as the Whitmanesque prophetic verse of Robinson Jeffers and the Romantic lyrics of Elinor Wylie and Edna St Vincent Millay.
Major movements of the century are represented, including the Black Mountain school of Charles Olson and Robert Duncan, the Deep Image poetry of Robert Bly and James Wright, underground literature by the Beat poets, the influential feminist works of Adrienne Rich, and the works by the confessional poets. Selected major African American writers such as Jean Toomer, Langston Hughes and Imamu Amiri Baraka are included; however, much more comprehensive coverage is given in the complementary Chadwyck-Healey collection Twentieth-Century African American Poetry.
Many contemporary writers of the 1980s and 1990s are also included, such as Sharon Olds, Louise Glück, Joy Harjo and Thomas Lynch. In addition, Twentieth-Century American Poetry also features two highly distinguished poetry series – the Yale Series of Young Poets and the University of Pittsburgh's Pitt Poetry Series. Full details of works included in the collection are given in the bibliography (found within the product).
Twentieth-Century English Poetry contains the poetry of over 280 poets from 1900 to the present day, including W.B. Yeats, Rudyard Kipling, Wilfred Owen, Robert Graves, A.E. Housman, John Betjeman, Fleur Adcock, Tony Harrison, Benjamin Zephaniah, Isaac Rosenberg, D.H. Lawrence and Carol Ann Duffy and many others from the lists of Carcanet, Enitharmon, Anvil Press, Bloodaxe Books and other poetry publishers. It also incorporates works by poets such as Sylvia Plath, T.S. Eliot, Seamus Heaney, Ted Hughes, Louis MacNeice and Siegfried Sassoon from The Faber Poetry Library. Full details of texts included in the collection are given in the bibliography.
The collection reflects the multiple concerns and techniques of a century's writing. From modernist experiment to post-modern playfulness, from Georgian convention to free-verse confession, and from Edwardian poetry of empire to post-imperial diversity, the collection embraces vital contrasts and continuities. The extraordinary diversity of the century's early decades are given full representation: Edwardian and Georgian writers such Robert Bridges, A.E. Housman, Thomas Hardy, Rudyard Kipling, Charlotte Mew and John Masefield can be searched alongside the revolutionary modernist writings of W.B. Yeats, T.S. Eliot, Ford Madox Ford, John Rodker, D.H. Lawrence, Hugh MacDiarmid and Basil Bunting and the war poetry of Siegfried Sassoon, Wilfred Owen, Isaac Rosenberg, David Jones, Robert Graves and Laurence Binyon.
Major writers of the 1930s such as Louis MacNeice, Stephen Spender, Stevie Smith and C. Day-Lewis, and 'Movement' poets like D.J. Enright, Kingsley Amis and John Wain, feature alongside their less well-known contemporaries, such as Ruth Pitter, Anne Ridler and Phoebe Hesketh, or the Surrealists Charles Madge and David Gascoyne. In addition, the collection includes a major body of contemporary writing, from established figures such as Seamus Heaney, Paul Muldoon, Les Murray, Carol Ann Duffy, Fred D'Aguiar and Fleur Adcock to a younger generation of emerging writers. There is a particularly strong strand of Irish writing, from Yeats, James Joyce and Padraic Colum to P.J. Kavanagh, Derek Mahon, Eavan Boland, Medbh McGuckian and Sinéad Morrissey.
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, federal, and state cases including state laws. including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. Also includes full text news, business, education, medical and reference information.
Gale's Opposing Viewpoints In Context cover today's hottest social issues. From the landing page, you can browse some of the latest hot topic issues. By clicking on a topic, you can get a wider range of resources all in one place for your convenience. It is a rich resource for communication courses and debaters, and includes pro/con viewpoints, reference articles, interactive maps, infographics, and more. Some of their sources include The New York Times, Newsweek, Foreign Policy, American Scientist, and Education Week, and more.
This cross-curricular research database supports economics, environment, politics, science, social studies, current events, language arts classes and much more. Informed, differing views help learners develop critical-thinking skills and draw their own conclusions.
Gale OneFile: Communications and Mass Media brings together information found in more than 400 journals. Nearly 3 million articles on all aspects of the communications field, including advertising, public relations, linguistics, and literature, meet the needs of researchers. Exclusive features, including Topic Finder, InterLink, and a mobile-optimized interface, support and enhance the search experience.
This comprehensive news collection is ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. This does include daily updates of the Houston Chronicle since 1985 in IMAGE format (image of the actual printed page)!
Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Use it to explore a specific event or to compare a wide variety of viewpoints on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people.
This is a full-text, full-image database of articles from The Houston Chronicle from 1901 (its beginning) - 1985. Articles can be viewed exactly as they appeared in the paper at that time.
This group of databases is general and covers many different academic disciplines. If you are still not finding something useful, give these a try. It includes Gale Academic One and ProQuest Research Library.
These library resources below are used quite regularly by our students and may be useful as you work with the databases.
Need an overview of a topic or more specific details? Credo Reference consists of over 300 reference titles consisting of an aggregate of 3.1 million entries. It is a great place to find biographical information or other general information about concepts and theories. Use the Length filters to get brief or lengthy descriptions (can often include 3-7 page articles and many are appropriate for master's and doctoral levels).
Self-Guided Research Help
The library's 24/7 help center with tutorials and videos on a wide range of research topics.
